2016's Top Fan Armies, Songs, Music Moments on Instagram

Getty Images
Zayn Malik and Niall Horan

It's no surprise that five out of Instagram's top 10 most-followed accounts are music-related and the list of the most-liked snaps from musical celebs in 2016 features a lot of the names you might expect (Beyoncé, Katy Perry, Drake, Selena Gomez, etc.) But what were the biggest trends, hashtags, most 'grammed festivals, which fan groups ruled the service, what songs got the most mentions and what were the top Instagram music moments of the year? (All data provided by Instagram.)

Billboard has that all for you, as well as a run-down of who joined the service for the first time this year, including:

Kanye West

 

A photo posted by Kanye West (@kanyewest) on

 

America's Got Talent judge Simon Cowell

 

Brit Awards 2016

A photo posted by @simoncowell on

 

And cartoon rockers the Gorillaz

 

#TheBookofRussel

A video posted by Gorillaz (@gorillaz) on

 

Artists with most mentions

  1. Selena Gomez
  2. One Direction
  3. Beyoncé
  4. Rihanna
  5. Ariana Grande
  6. Twenty One Pilots
  7. Taylor Swift
  8. Drake
  9. Coldplay
  10. Sia
  11. Ne-Yo
  12. Jennifer Lopez
  13. Kanye West
  14. Wale
  15. Madonna

 

Top 15 songs with most mentions on Instagram in 2016 (based on total global number of mentions for a sampling of the year's top Billboard-charting songs, in captions, comments or photos):

  1. “Formation” - Beyoncé
  2. “Sorry” - Justin Bieber
  3. “Work” - Rihanna ft. Drake
  4. “Ride” - Twenty One Pilots
  5. “Pillowtalk” - Zayn
  6. “Perfect” - One Direction
  7. “Heathens” - Twenty One Pilots
  8. “Hello” - Adele
  9. “My Boo” - Ghost Town DJ's
  10. “Panda” - Desiigner
  11. “Love Yourself” - Justin Bieber
  12. “Stitches” - Shawn Mendes
  13. “Dangerous Woman” - Ariana Grande
  14. “Sorry” - Beyoncé
  15. “Purple Rain” - Prince

 

Most Instagrammed moments

The death of David Bowie

 

The world loves you David.

A video posted by xoxo, Joanne (@ladygaga) on

 

 

@gucci #Fall2016

A photo posted by IMAN (@the_real_iman) on

 

 

Heart ----

A photo posted by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

 

Prince's death

 

 

 

----

A photo posted by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on

 

10 Most active Fan Armies 

  1. Selenators (Selena Gomez)
  2. Team Drake (Drake)
  3. Beyhive (Beyonce)
  4. Arianators (Ariana Grande)
  5. Harmonizers (Fifth Harmony)
  6. Little Monsters (Lady Gaga)
  7. Barbz (Nicki Minaj)
  8. Swifties (Taylor Swift)
  9. Directioners (One Direction)
  10. Rihanna Navy (Rihanna)

 

Most buzzed-about U.S. music trends and hashtags

  1. #hiphop
  2. #dj
  3. #festival
  4. #concert
  5. #singer
  6. #livemusic
  7. #selenagomez
  8. #onedirection
  9. #twentyonepilots
  10. #band

Artists who gained the most new followers

  1. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) - Gained more than 50 million followers.
  2. Ariana Grande (@ariangrande) - Gained for than 40 million followers.
  3. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) - Gained more than 38.3 million followers
  4. Beyonce (@beyonce) - Gained more than 37 million followers
  5. Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj) - Gained fore than 29 million followers
  6. Katy Perry (@katyperry) - Gained more than 25.1 million followers
  7. Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) - Gained more than 24.3 million followers
  8. Demi Lovato (@ddlovato) - Gained more than 22 million followers
  9. Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) - Gained more than 20 million followers
  10. Justin Timberlake (@justintimberlake) - Gained more than 18 million followers

 

Most Instagrammed music festivals

  1. Lollapalooza
  2. Ultra Music Festival
  3. Glastonbury Festival
  4. Fuji Rock Festival
  5. SXSW Music
  6. Coachella

 

5 Artists who used Instagram to announce new music

 

#LEMONADE 4.23 9PM ET | 6PM PT | HBO

A video posted by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on

 

 

To the city I love and the people in it...Thank you for everything #VIEWS

A photo posted by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

 

 

A video posted by Radiohead (@radiohead) on

 

 

 

#MindOfMine .. yours now !!!! -- ------

A photo posted by Zayn Malik (@zayn) on