Charli XCX, Hailee Steinfeld & More Set for 20th SESAC Pop Awards

Charli XCX
Ian Gavan/Getty Images

Charli XCX attends amfAR's 22nd Cinema Against AIDS Gala, Presented By Bold Films And Harry Winston at Hotel du Cap-Eden-Roc on May 21, 2015 in Cap d'Antibes, France. 

The 20th annual SESAC Pop Awards will take place Monday, April 18, at Cipriani in New York City, and the show will honor the songwriters behind some of the biggest songs of the past year.

The only announced award so far -- the Performance Awards -- will honor the likes of Charli XCX, Jimmy Napes (Sam Smith's "I'm Not the Only One"), Jacob Luttrell (Charlie Puth's "Marvin Gaye"), Oscar Holter (Hailee Steinfeld's "Love Myself") and Ayanna Howard (Nick Fradiani's "Beautiful Life"). Additionally, Steinfeld and Fradiani are slated to perform at the event.

The SESAC Pop Awards will also honor a songwriter of the year and publisher of the year, along with other genre-specific awards, each of which will be announced either in the coming weeks of the night of the event. Last year, Warner/Chappell's Jon Platt took home the Visionary Award, presented by Public Enemy's Chuck D; James Napier, co-author of Sam Smith's "Stay With Me," was named songwriter of the year; and "Stay With Me" publisher Universal Tunes, a subsidiary of Universal Music Publishing Group, took home the honor for publisher of the year.

Last September, SESAC made a splash by acquiring Harry Fox Agency from the NMPA for a reported $20-$25 million.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.