Joanna Newsom Returns with New Album 'Divers'

Joanna Newsom 2015
Annabel Mehran

Joanna Newsom

The indie star has come back with a Paul Thomas Anderson-directed music video for “Sapokanikan”

Hark, is that a harp playing in the distance? That’s a telltale sign that Joanna Newsom has returned with new music! Indeed, the freak-folk chanteuse has announced that her fourth album, Divers, is due out on Oct. 23rd through longtime label Drag City Records.

The first taste of the album, “Sapokanikan,” has received a music video directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, who captured Newsom in last year’s Inherent Vice adaptation. Watch the New York City fantasia below:

Divers is Newsom’s first new full-length since the majestic 2010 triple-album Have One On Me. Nico Muhly, the Dirty Projectors’ Dave Longstreth and Ryan Francesconi all contributed to the arrangements (along with Newsom), while Steve Albini and Noah Georgeson recorded the new album and Newsom and Georgeson mixed it.

Joanna Newsom 'Had a Strong Sense That I Didn't Know What I Was Doing' in 'Inherent Vice'

Check out the track list to Joanna Newsom’s Divers:

01. Anecdotes
02. Sapokanikan
03. Leaving the City
04. Goose Eggs
05. Waltz of the 101st Lightborne
06. The Things I Say
07. Divers
08. Same Old Man
09. You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
10. A Pin-Light Bent
11. Time, As A Symptom


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.