New Supergroup NEKOKAT's 'Gimme A Break': Exclusive Single Premiere

Courtesy Photo

Fans of The Ready Set and The Summer Set will want to take notice of new super group NEKOKAT. Featuring members of both groups -- Jordan W (of The Ready Set), Cameron Walker (a The Ready Set collaborator) and Jess Bowen (of The Summer Set) – the new act formed after hitting the studio earlier this year with producer Eric Palmquist (Bad Suns, Night Riots). 

The trio describe their new project as a "collective" between the three artists, and Billboard has the premiere of their first single, "Gimme A Break," here.

The summer ready anthem blooms with a simmering xylophone sample that serves as the track's heartbeat, while the ultra catchy vocals pulse through bouncy electronics and room-filling drums. The result is a tune as infectious as it is poised for success this summer. And with a combined social reach of over 2.5 million fans, NEKOKAT shouldn't have trouble taking their new project to the charts.

"It started as a track idea Jordan made," Walker tells Billboard of the track. "It had the 'Yeah, yeah, yeah' vocal part and a sample of kids in a Japan classroom learning English. To me, 'Gimme a Break' is sending the message to be true to who you are. Be yourself.  Be awesome. Be different."