Exclusive: The Milk Carton Kids Announce New Album, 'Monterey'

The Milk Carton Kids
Ryan Mastro

The Milk Carton Kids

Ever-charming anti-folk revivalists the Milk Carton Kids have revealed their third album, Monterey, the follow-up to 2013's Grammy-nominated The Ash & Clay. It's out May 19 via Anti-, and to usher in the good news, Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan have recorded an adorably (intentionally) awkward announcement video, which you can watch below. The two remain deadpan as the conversation veers inexplicably from pondering whether late-night and early-morning records exist to the best monkey videos on YouTube.

Recorded in Nashville's Downtown Presbyterian Church during both daylight and nighttime hours, Monterey is a finger-picked meander down folk music's long and rangy path, with the odd couple's exquisitely Simon and Garfunkel-reminiscent harmonies over everything.

Of the new LP, Ryan tells Billboard, "The stage and the studio are intensely different places to perform music. We have always preferred the stage, and have vastly more experience there. Making this album on stages, even in the absence of an audience, caused us to perform for the record -- spontaneous and unencumbered -- the way we do each night at our shows."

Find the full tracklist below.  

Monterey Tracklist:
1. Asheville Skies
2. Getaway
3. Monterey
4. Secrets Of The Stars
5. Freedom
6. High Hopes
7. Deadly Bells
8. Shooting Shadows
9. The City Of Our Lady
10. Sing, Sparrow, Sing
11. Poison Tree