Florence + the Machine Shares New Song/Music Video, Announces New Album Details

Florence and the Machine
Courtesy Photo

Florence and the Machine

New album 'How Big How Blue How Beautiful' is out June 2 on Republic.

New music from Florence + the Machine is here. After teasing us with a nearly instrumental track earlier this week, on Thursday (Feb. 12), Florence Welch announced plans for her third studio album and dropped the official video for "What Kind of Man." Check it out below:

The new album -- Florence's first since 2011's Ceremonials -- is called How Big How Blue How Beautiful, and it's due June 2 via Republic. Its 11 songs (track list below) were produced by Markus Dravs (Björk, Arcade Fire, Coldplay), with other contributions from Ceremonials producer/Adele collaborator Paul Epworth, Kid Harpoon, John Hill and others.

Welch wanted to work with Dravs because of his production on Björk's Homogenic  -- "a huge record for me," she says via press release. "I felt he had that balance of organic and electronic capabilities, managing those two worlds. And, you know, he's good with big sounds. And I like big sounds. And he's good with trumpets, and I knew I wanted a brass section on this record."

Those brass sections were arranged by Goldfrapp's Will Gregory.

The songs were written and recorded throughout 2014. Kid Harpoon co-wrote a track called "Ship to Wreck"; Epworth assisted on a song called "Mother"; and bandmate and longtime collaborator Isa Summers co-wrote the title track.

Where Ceremonials' lyrics focused on water, death and escapism, Welch says the new album's themes are more of the here and now. "The new album became about trying to learn how live, and how to love in the world rather than trying to escape from it," Welch says. "Which is frightening because I'm not hiding behind anything but it felt like something I had to do."

On Tuesday, Florence + the Machine gave us the first taste of the new music with a video for the nearly instrumental title track:

So far, Florence + the Machine hasn't announced a tour behind the album, though the band has confirmed a handful of American festivals (Coachella, Governors Ball and Bonnaroo) and a few European festivals for June, July, and August.

Here is the track list for the new album:

1. "Ship to Wreck"
2. "What Kind of Man"
3. "How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful"
4. "Queen of Peace"
5. "Various Storms & Saints"
6. "Delilah"
7. "Long & Lost"
8. "Caught"
9. "Third Eye"
10. "St Jude"
11. "Mother"