Exclusive: Boyz II Men Return with ‘Collide’ Album: Hear New Song ‘Losing Sleep’

Boyz II Men
Rony Shram

Boyz II Men

Check out the cover art and track list first at Billboard.com.

R&B icons Boyz II Men will return this fall with a new album, Collide, that represents a left turn in the group’s 23-year career — specifically, the album includes zero ballads. Listen to the silky-smooth new track “Losing Sleep” from the album, premiering exclusively at Billboard.com:

Since releasing its 20th anniversary album, Twenty, in 2011, the trio has stayed busy on the road and kicked off a residency at the Mirage Resort and Casino in Las Vegas in March 2013. Nathan Morris, Wanya Morris and Shawn Stockman are total pros at this point, but Nathan Morris tells Billboard that the group was interested in tweaking its style, which accounts for the lack of slower songs on the upcoming full-length.

“I think fans are going to be blown away by that,” says Morris, “because the history of what they know is that Boyz II Men sings ballads and love songs. There’s not a whole lot of that on this album. Unfortunately, people don’t listen to ballads anymore. We listen to them, because we grew up on them and we love them, but radio doesn’t play them. We’re in a very fast society where nobody wants to take time to slow down, so the music has to reflect that.”


Collide, which will be released through BMG, is a “collection of songs from all over the place — all different type of genres and different types of style,” according to Morris. However, Boyz II Men is excited to share “Losing Sleep” as one of the more “traditional” tracks from the album: “The singing style and the harmonies is typical of Boyz II Men, and that’s one of the reasons why we decided on the song.”

This Week In Billboard Chart History: Boyz II Men's 'Road' Leads To No. 1

Along with the new album, Boyz II Men is also celebrating the 20th anniversary of II — their landmark album led by the smash hits “I’ll Make Love to You” and “On Bended Knee” — this year. Since its 1994 release, the album has sold 8.6 million copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Check out the track list to Boyz II Men’s Collide album below:

1) Me Myself & I
2) What Happens In Vegas
3) Diamond Eyes
4) Better Half
5) Underwater
6) Believe Us
7) Don’t Stop
8) Already Gone
9) As Long As I’m With You
10) Losing Sleep
11) So What
12) Collide