Cookies, 'Music For Touching' Song Premiere: Hear Mobius Band's Ben Sterling's New Project

Cookies, the inscrutable new project from Mobius Band co-founder Ben Sterling, has a captivating debut track with "Music For Touching," the title track from its upcoming debut album. Take a listen to Cookies' "Music For Touching," premiering exclusively on

After opening for artists like the National, Cut Copy and Matthew Dear as part of Mobius Band, Sterling forged his own path and spent a half-decade writing what eventually became "Music For Touching." Along with the title track, which features Magik Magik Orchestra on strings, the self-released album (due out Sept. 9) features Arcade Fire collaborator Colin Stetson, Tom Vek, Rebecca Zeller and Akaash Israni, among others.

Meet Indiana, Your Favorite New Pop Artist

"On 'Music For Touching', the main lyric -- 'I don't want to be lonely' -- is so fundamental, like saying 'I don't want to starve to death,'" Sterling explains of Cookies' debut song. "There are infinite stories that begin there and one just jumped out at me. The music, too, is as simple and free of ornament as I could stand."

Check out the track list for "Music For Touching" below:

1. 1000 Breakfasts With You
2. Go Back
3. July Seventeen
4. Crybaby (A)
5. Spill Of Sugar
6. Introduction
7. Music For Touching
8. Human Problems
9. Katharine
10. The Dream


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.