5 Seconds of Summer Album Coming In July

Charlie Gray
 5 Seconds of Summer photographed by Charlie Gray March 21st at the Australian High Commission in London. 

The group's first full-length follows the "She Looks So Perfect" EP.

5 Seconds of Summer’s hot start shouldn’t cool-off anytime soon. The Australian pop-punk group has announced their debut full-length album will drop July 22 -- a date timed for maximum exposure from the 5SOS’ extensive tour of Europe and North America.

The newcomers’ self-titled set will feature collaborations with John Feldmann (All Time Low, Good Charlotte, Boys Like Girls), Jake Sinclair (Fall Out Boy, Pink), Steve Robson (Busted) and The Madden Brothers of Good Charlotte. “5 Seconds of Summer” was recorded earlier this year in L.A., and is described by their record company Capitol as a “collection of infectious pop-punk anthems written for the adoring fans that have been instrumental in the band’s success.”

5 Seconds of Summer: 10 Things You Need To Know

The teenage four-piece from Western Sydney, comprising Michael Clifford, Calum Hood, Luke Hemmings and Ashton Irwin, are on the cusp of “global pop phenomenon” status after their debut four-track EP "She Looks So Perfect” exploded out of the blocks on its release in April. The EP opened at No. 2 on the Bllboard 200, and went to No. 1 in the U.K. and Australia. The No. 1 debut on the Official U.K. Singles saw 5SOS become just the fourth Aussie group to achieve the feat, and the first to do so since Madison Avenue’s “Don’t Call Me Baby” in May 2000. 

5SOS decided to self-title the album "because it really represents who we are and who we want to be as a band," comments Hemmings, the band’s lead singer, in a statement. "Working on the different songs - writing, recording and watching them all come together - has been one of the most incredible experiences we've had as musicians and we are so proud of how it has turned out."

5SOS gained notoriety last year after opening for One Direction on the bulk of its arena tour. It will rejoin the British boy band again this year as 1D’s opening act for stadium stops across the U.K., Europe and north America, starting May 23 at Dublin's Croke Park. The U.K. trek includes three shows at London’s Wembley Stadium. 5SOS is currently on tour in their homeland, and they’re among the performers confirmed for the May 18 Billboard Music Awards in Las Vegas.

Tracklist for "5 Seconds Of Summer":

1. "She Looks So Perfect"
2. "Don't Stop"
3. "Good Girls"
4. "Kiss Me Kiss Me"
5. "18"
6. "Everything I Didn't Say"
7. "Beside You"
8. "End Up Here"
9. "Long Way Home"
10. "Heartbreak Girl"
11. "Lost Boy"
12. "Amnesia"
13. "Social Casualty"
14. "Never Be"
15. "Voodoo Doll"
16. "Greenlight" (*iTunes exclusive)


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.