Adam Lambert's 'Very Best' Compilation Gets May Release

Adam Lambert
Charles Sykes/Invision/AP

Adam Lambert attends a press event to announce a Queen + Adam Lambert summer tour

While Adam Lambert fans patiently wait for new music, Sony Legacy will issue a collection of the singer's greatest hits for those who want to complete their collection of official releases by the 'American Idol" season eight runner-up.

Lambert's former label home (RCA is a division of Sony) will out a "physical release" of the album, titled “The Very Best of Adam Lambert,” on May 27.

Adam Lambert Working With Max Martin on New Album

The compilation will include three American Idolperformances from when he was on the show, including his covers of "Mad World" by Tears for Fears and "One" by U2. Lambert's version of Lady Gaga's "Marry the Night" from his appearance on "Glee" closes out the 14-track CD.

Also included on the record: Lambert's contribution to the 2012 film, 2012, "Time for Miracles."

"If some of these tracks feel like musical mission statements, it's in their skillful fusion of mainstream pop and rock with left-of-center, if not underground, musician and pop-cultural markers, and their clear conviction towards that mission," reads the album's liner notes. "And it that's not the hallmark of an artist who's unfailingly true to himself... well, you are invited to listen to some more until you get it."

Lambert walked away from his recording contract with RCA last July after the release of two albums, 2012's "Trespassing" and 2009's "For Your Entertainment," along with several EP's and a live collection.


Adam Lambert Snags First No. 1 Album on Billboard 200 Chart

Since then, the singer has been busy working on new music in Sweden with producer Max Martin. He is set to hit the road with Queen this June. 

Track list for "The Very Best of Adam Lambert”

1. Mad World (American Idol Performance)
2. One (American Idol Performance)
3. Tracks of My Tears (American Idol Performance)
4. Time For Miracles
5. For Your Entertainment
6. Whataya Want From Me
7. If I Had You (Radio Mix)
8. Aftermath
9. Can't Let You Go
10. Trespassing (Radio Edit)
11. Never Close Our Eyes
12. Better Than I Know Myself
13. Runnin'
14. Marry The Night (Glee Cast Version)

  • This article originally appeared in THR.com.