Latin Music Week

Lea Michele Sets Date for Debut Album, Rolls Out 'Cannonball' Single: Listen

"Glee" star Lea Michele will release her debut album "Louder" on March 4, Columbia Records announced on Tuesday. To mark the occasion, TV's Rachel Berry unleashed the album's uplifting lead single, "Cannonball," written by recent Billboard cover star Sia Fuller.

Listen to 'Cannonball'

The song's booming pop chorus features a confident Michele, whose Broadway-bred voice is as on-point as you'd expect: "And now I will start living today, today, today. I closed the door / I got this new beginning, and I will fly, I'll fly like a cannonball."

The album's 11 tracks were recorded over the past year, with contributions from Christina Perri, Colin Munroe and Stargate. Sia also wrote a ballad on the set, called "Battlefield."

Michele, who has kept a relatively low profile since the death of her boyfriend and "Glee" co-star Cory Monteith in July, says the album "encompasses my experiences over the past year" and shows her journey as an artist.

"There's a lot of emotion but it's also very encouraging and hopeful -- it's about pushing forward and living your life in a way that's louder, stronger and bolder," she says in a statement. "I'm so excited to share this new side of me with my fans."

Fans who pre-order "Louder" beginning today (Dec. 10) on iTunes will receive an instant download for "Cannonball." Michele will perform the single on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show" on Thursday, Dec. 12.

"Louder" Tracklist:
1. Cannonball
2. On My Way
3. Burn with You
4. Battlefield
5. You're Mine
6. Thousand Needles
7. Louder
8. Cue the Rain
9. Don't Let Go
10. Empty Handed
11. If You Say So