Fuji Rock Festival Announces Lineup for 20th Anniversary Edition

Jesse Grant/WireImage

Anthony Kiedis, Flea and Chad Smith of The Red Hot Chili Peppers on December 31, 2012 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Japan's original international summer music festival, Fuji Rock Festival, has announced the lineup for its 2016 edition, which marks the 20th anniversary of the event.

The fest will be headlined by the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Other acts to appear include Sigur Ros, Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals, Courtney Barnett, Battles, Kula Shaker, the Robert Glasper Experiment and Disclosure.

Fuji Rock started on the slopes of Mt. Fuji in 1997, but the fest is now held at a ski resort in Naeba, Niigata prefecture, about 200 miles from the iconic mountain. The Chili Peppers headlined that initial edition, which turned out to be Dave Navarro’s last show with the band.

Red Hot Chili Peppers Headline Bernie Sanders Fundraiser

Ska guitarist Ernest Ranglin, 2 Cellos, Courtney Barnett, Squarepusher, The Internet, Jake Bugg, Oliver Heldens, G. Love and Special Sauce, DJ Harvey, Jack Garratt, Con Brio, Leon Bridges, Mura Masa and Kamasi Washington were also announced.

Fuji Rock usually attracts between 100,000-120,000 patrons. The three-day event will be held July 22-24 and more acts are expected to be revealed soon. The festivities usually feature over 150 international bands.