Premios De La Radio 2018 Pay Tribute to Immigrants in the U.S.: See Winners List

Banda MS
Courtesy of Star Management 

Banda MS performs at Premios de la Radio in Mexico on Nov. 8, 2018.

Aside from honoring the best of regional Mexican music, the 2018 Premios de la Radio paid a special tribute to the Latino community living in the United States.

At the awards show, held Thursday at the Telmex Auditorium in Guadalajara, Mexico, artists Gerardo Ortiz, Alfredo Olivas, El Fantasma, Virlan Garcia, Christian Nodal and Cornelio JR united onstage to sing “Porque,” a song that asks why discrimination and family separation have to exist.

Watch the performance:

Julion Alvarez, along with 100 children, also took the Premios de la Radio stage to sing a special song about families at the border.

Other highlights of the annual awards show included a tribute to Los Tucanes de Tijuana, celebrating their trajectory in music, and a mariachi performance by Ana Barbara and Alicia Villarreal.

See the full winners list below:

Artist of the Night: Julión Álvarez

Artist of the Year: Banda MS

Band of the Year: Banda MS

Norteño Group of the Year: Cornelio Vega y Su Dinastía

Sierreño Group or Artist of the Year: Virlán García

Solo Artist of the Year: Julión Álvarez

Banda Song of the Year: "Tu Postura" (Banda MS)

Mariachi Song of the Year: "Me Dejé Llevar" (Christian Nodal)

Norteño Song of the Year: "Antecedentes de Culpa" (Alfredo Olivas)

Sierreña Song of the Year: "Como Los Vaqueros" (Lenin Ramírez y Ulices Chaidez)

420 Song of the Year: "De Periódico Un Gallito" (Legado 7)

Corrido Song of the Year: "Palma Salazar" (Gerardo Ortiz)

Album of the Year: En El Camino (El Fantasma)

New Artist of the Year: Cornelio Vega y Su Dinastía

Video of the Year: "Seremos" (El Bebeto)

From Social Media to the Radio Award: Geru y Su Legión 7

Proud Latino Award presented by Honda: Christian Nodal

The Best of the Best Award presented by Wendy’s: El Fantasma


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.