Julión Álvarez Wins Big at Premios Bandamax, Joan Sebastian Honored

Julion Alvarez 2015
Omar Vega/LatinContent/Getty Images

Julion Alvarez smiles during his 2015 tour show at Gexa Energy Pavilion on June 20, 2015 in Dallas, United States.

The biggest stars in regional Mexican music gathered at the Palacio de los Deportes in Mexico City for the fourth edition of Premios Bandamax on Tuesday, with Julión Alvarez y su Norteño Banda taking home male solo artist of the year, album of the year for El Aferrado, and the special Estrella Bandamax 2015 (Star Bandamax 2015) recognition.

Banda MS also had reason to celebrate, winning band of the year and most requested video for their hit “A lo Mejor.”

La Original Banda el Limón was honored for their 50 years in the music business, while Intocable took home a special trophy for their 20-year career, in addition to cinching the Norteño group award. Veteran producer Fernando Camacho was feted with the visionary award, and Larry Hernandez won the coveted award for most influential artist on social media.

In what was the highlight of the evening, Joan Sebastian’s peers paid tribute to the late Rey del Jaripeo by covering some of his best-known hits, including Banda MS (“Sentimental”), Álvarez (“Sangoloteadito” and “Que Dios te Bendiga”), Bobby Pulido (“Secreto de Amor”), Bebeto and América Sierra (“Soy un Idiota”). On Aug. 12, another tribute organized by Sebastian’s sons Julian and José Manuel will take place in Acapulco in honor of the late Mexican icon.

Joan Sebastian to be Honored in All-Star Musical Tribute

 Here’s the complete list of winners of Premios Bandamax 2015.

Artist or Group Norteño Banda
Calibre 50

Female Solo Artist of the Year
Luz María

Youth Group
Banda Los Recoditos

Norteño Group

Duet of the Year
Pancho Urestí feat. Leandro Ríos “Debajo del Sombrero”

Breakout Artist or Group
Claudio Alcaráz

Male Solo Artist of the Year
Julión Álvarez y su Norteño Banda

Best Video Production
Edwin Luna y la Trakalosa de Monterrey, “La Revancha”

Traditional Norteño Group
Cardenales de Nuevo León

Most Requested Video
Banda MS, “A lo Mejor”

Songwriter of the Year
Luciano Luna & Joss Favela

Band of the Year
Banda MS

Album of the Year
Julión Álvarez y su Norteño Banda, El Aferrado

Song of the Year
La Adictiva, “Después de ti, ¿quién?


Bandamex Person of the Year
Toño Aldeco

20 Years of Musical Excellence

Gabbanelli Award
Fidel Rueda

Regional Mexican Music Visionary Award
Fernando Camacho

50 Years of Trajectory
La Original Banda el Limón

Bandamax Star 2015
Julión Álvarez y su Norteño Banda

Favorite Show
XE Marilé

Most Influential Artist on Social Media
Larry Hernandez


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.