Fonseca, Nicky Jam & More Win 2015 SESAC Latina Music Awards

Courtesy Photo

Fonseca photographed in 2015.

Luciano Luna & Dulce Maria Music named songwriter & publisher of the year at Beverly Hills event.

An eclectic roster of acts that included rising reggaeton star Nicky Jam, young regional Mexican act Noel Torres and Colombian pop/tropical star Fonseca were among those who collected awards at the 2015 SESAC Latina Music Awards, held Wednesday (June 17) at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

The annual awards, which honor the most-played SESAC songwriters and publishers on Billboard’s Latin charts, stood out this year for the many genres represented by winners who had No. 1-charting songs; a total of 10 SESAC tracks reached No. 1 on the charts the past year.

Roberto Carlos Named Latin Recording Academy Person of the Year

Special honors went to Fonseca, who received SESAC’s inaugural Contemporary Icon Award for an artistic trajectory that in the past year included the release of his “Fonseca Sinfónico” album and also saw him reach No. 1 on Latin Airplay and Latin Pop Airplay with “Juntos,” co-written and recorded by Juanes.

The songwriter of the year award went for the second consecutive year to Luciano Luna, a songwriter capable of bringing together grit and heartache and who works almost exclusively in the realm of regional Mexican music.

Luna wrote this year’s song of the year, “Te hubieras ido Antes” (You Should Have left Sooner), recorded by Julión Alvarez y su Norteño Band (and published by Kalia Publisher). But he also picked up seven additional awards, including for “Tenerte,” recorded by teen Mexican star Luis Coronel; “Tus Latidos,” recorded by Norteño band Calibre 50 (and co-written with Calibre’s Edén Muñoz) and Noel Torres’ “Para qué tantos besos.”

The publisher of the year award went to Dulce Maria Music,  home to singer/songwriter Edén Múñoz, lead singer of Calibre 50. Múñoz authored or co-authored four songs: “El Inmigrante,” “Tus Latidos,” “Javier El De Los Llanos” and “Contigo.”

For the third year, SESAC also gave awards to its most-viewed songs on YouTube. Winning tracks were J Balvin’s “6 a.m.” feat. Farruko, which has amassed nearly a quarter-million views; Nicky Jam’s “El Perdón,” featuring Enrique Iglesias, which has close to 100 million views (Nicky Jam, real name Nick Rivera Camerino, also won a #1 Award for “El Perdón”); and Banda La Trakalosa De Monterrey’s “Mi padrino el diablo,” with nearly 70 million views.

The SESAC Latina Music Awards were hosted by SESAC Latina VP J.J. Cheng, together with VP Trevor Gale.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.