Gloria Estefan, Rubén Blades Among Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees

Jesus Cordero

Gloria Estefan

Gloria Estefan, Ruben Blades and Ricardo Arjona are among the 24 singer/songwriters and composers nominated to the 2013 Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame and its La Musa Awards.

Nominees were announced at a press conference in Miami yesterday, with LSHOF founders Desmond Child and Rudy Perez in attendance. The two songwriters/producers founded the organization and last year launched its inaugural awards as part of the Billboard Latin Music Conference in April. This year, the LSHOF gala will be hosted in the Fall.

However, winners of La Musa will be voted upon by members of the LSHOF beginning now and through April 27.

Membership is free and available to the public by registering at

Winners will be announced at a press conference April 28, which will be followed by a "Masterclass In The Round" led by songwriters Claudia Brant, Omar Alfanno and Fernando Osorio and hosted by Child and Pérez.

Full list of Nominees to the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame:

Alberto Cortez (Argentina)
Roberto Carlos (Brazil)
Gloria Estefan (Cuba)
Álvaro Torres (El Salvador)
Joan Manuel Serrat (Spain)
Ricardo Arjona (Guatemala)
Juan Gabriel (México)
Rubén Blades (Panamá)
Gian Marco (Perú)
Willie Colón (Puerto Rico)
Juan Luis Guerra (Dominican Republic)
Franco De Vita (Venezuela)

Robert Livi (Argentina)
Lalo Schifrin (Argentina)
Héctor Ochoa Cárdenas (Colombia)
Jorge Luis Piloto (Cuba)
Alejandro Jaén (Spain)
Rafael Pérez Botija (Spain)
Rubén Fuentes (México)
Lolita De La Colina (México)
Omar Alfanno (Panamá)
Johnny Ortiz (Puerto Rico)
Rafael Solano (Dominican Republic)
José Enrique "Chelique" Sarabia (Venezuela)