BTOB Reflect on 'Beautiful Pain' in New Music Video: Watch

BTOB "Beautiful Pain"
Courtesy Photo

BTOB "Beautiful Pain"

South Korean vocal pop group BTOB returned Monday with the release of their Hour Moment EP. Following the release of October's pre-album release “Friend,” the new album was fronted by the evocative “Beautiful Pain.”

An evocative pop ballad, “Beautiful Pain” utilizes a simple piano melody as its base, before growing into a gentle, rhythmic soundscape featuring sweet strings, layered harmonies and dramatic synths as the boy band reflects on how it’s impossible to turn back time on a romance. It’s the sort of sound that BTOB has come to be known for, and a fitting release at a time when the group's fans are feeling a sweet pain of their own, with member Eunkwang's recent enlistment in the South Korean armed forces.

“Beautiful Pain” was co-written by BTOB’s Hyunsik with EDEN, while Minhyuk, Peniel and Ilhoon also wrote lyrics. Ilhoon co-composed three other songs on the album -- "Friend," "Like It" and "Butterfly" -- while Minhyuk co-wrote "Climax." Based on time-bound love, the track list of Hour Moment seems to take the listener through the moments from friendship turning into love with "Friend" followed by "Like It," then the first flutters of romance with "Butterfly," followed by the "Climax" of a relationship and ending with a "Beautiful Pain."

The single was released with a poignant music video that featured the members of BTOB, sans Eunkwang, reflectively singing as they remember the times they had together with a loved one.

Formed in 2012, BTOB saw a late-career surge in popularity and has become known as one of South Korea's most popular vocal acts. They've seen three albums appear on the World Albums chart within the last two years.

Watch the music video for BTOB’s “Beautiful Pain” here: