EXO Turn Into Bikers in 'Tempo' Teaser Video Ahead of New Album's Release

EXO 'Tempo'
Courtesy Photo

EXO, "Tempo" teaser.

Popular K-pop boy band EXO is almost back, and they’re revving excitement up with their latest teaser video ahead of their upcoming album.

Earlier on Sunday (Oct. 21), the nine-member group shared their Tempo Concept short film, revealing a hint of what's to come from their upcoming Don't Mess Up My Tempo album and the upcoming single “Tempo.”

The brief, 30-second clip revealed the group as a charismatic biker gang, driving along a nighttime road and posing amid dusty dunes with motorcycles. Though there aren’t any group shots of EXO unmasked, each of the nine men -- Sehun, D.O., Kai, Chanyeol, Xiumin, Lay, Chen, Suho and Baekhyun -- are featured in their own leather and jean-clad looks.

The video gave a brief hint of the sound of "Tempo" starting off with a dramatic synth melody, pulsating beat and the phrase "I can't believe."

A promotional poster shared on the group's official website hints at the plot of the upcoming music video for “Tempo,” showing eight of the members sans Lay, who will be featured on an EXO album for the first time since 2016's For Life. The image includes a caption that reads: “Speed loving bikers enter the fragment of frozen time as they log into the red cube. Solving the given puzzle is the only route for all to escape. However, the bikers are unable to resist the temptation and reenter the cube.”

All of EXO’s social media accounts have been updated with icons of red cubes.

Don’t Mess Up My Tempo will be EXO's fifth LP, and is set to be released on Nov. 2. It will feature 11 songs, including two variants of “Tempo,” one in Korean and one in Chinese.  

Following the Tempo film's release, the album's name trended worldwide for several hours on Twitter.