Apple Music Releases 'Up Next with NCT 127' Introductory Video

NCT 127
Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic

NCT 127 attends the 2018 American Music Awards at Microsoft Theater on Oct. 9, 2018 in Los Angeles. 

As part of its Up Next spotlight series, Apple Music has released a new video profiling NCT 127 and its members.

Titled “Strongest Member Together,” the eight-minute film features the K-pop boy band's 10 members discussing their career, teamwork and one another, introducing NCT 127 to Apple Music subscribers.

“NCT stands for ‘Neo Culture Technology,’ 127 is the longitude of Seoul,” explains Chicagoan Johnny. “From Seoul, we want to spread our K-pop music around the world.” Taeyong, the band’s leader and one of its rappers, follows up by explaining how the group is made up of individuals with their own style but are working towards unity.

“One of the biggest differences between American and Asia’s star development is that they actually bring you in under their own label and train you for a couple years until the team is developed,” says Canadian member Mark. “I think the trainee period that we went through really created a bond,” adds Taeyong, before Johnny says that nine years passed between when he first signed with NCT 127’s label SM Entertainment and his debut in the group.

The rest of the video features the group’s other members -- Jaehyun, Jungwoo, Doyoung, Winwin, Yuta, Taeil, and Haechan-- talking about one another and their roles within the NCT 127 team, and what it means to be a K-pop group with members from around the world. NCT 127 represents five countries: South Korea, China, Japan, Canada and the United States.

“It all has to end up as a whole product. The people you see right now are the people who made it,” reflects Mark.

NCT 127 is part of SM Entertainment’s larger NCT boy band, which incorporates several sub-unit under its title, including NCT Dream and NCT U. They were announced to be the first K-pop artist spotlighted by Apple Music’s Up Next on Oct. 1. The act released their English-language single “Regular” and premiered it on Jimmy Kimmel Live! Monday (Oct. 8), with their Regular-Irregular album out Friday (Oct. 12). It is the first album to feature the group as a 10-member act with the addition of Jungwoo, who was first featured on the NCT 2018 Empathy album as a member of NCT and NCT U. 

The group appeared on the AMAs red carpet Tuesday (Oct. 9). "Strongest Member Together" is now available on Apple Music.