BTS, TWICE Win Big at 2018 Soribada Best K-Music Awards

Courtesy of BigHit Entertainment


South Korea’s 2018 award season has already begun, and today saw the 2018 Soribada Best K-Music Awards take place in Seoul. Hosted by Han Seok Jun and Son Dambi and held at the Olympic Gymnastics Arena, the event recognized some of the best talent in K-pop in 2018.

The biggest awards of the night went to BTS and TWICE, with the boy band recognized with the Daesang, or Grand Prize, award and the girl group receiving the digital equivalent.

BTS and TWICE were also recognized as one of the 12 Bonsang, or Main Award, winners, and BTS won the World Social Artist Award. To celebrate, both acts shared pictures with their trophies, and even a photobomb, on social media. 

Meanwhile, Mamamoo, Red Velvet, Nu'Est W, Wanna One and several others were recognized in multiple categories. The event saw performances from many of the winners, including BTS and TWICE. 

?The 2018 show was Soribada’s second time hosting its K-Music Awards, after last year’s inaugural event. Soribada is a peer-to-peer file-sharing and music streaming service in South Korea.

The entire list of winners:

Daesang [Grand Prize]: BTS

Digital Daesang [Grand Prize]: TWICE

Bonsang [Main Award]: Wanna One, MAMAMOO, NCT 127, Bolbbalgan4, TWICE, NU’EST W, MOMOLAND, MONSTA X, AOA, Red Velvet, BTS

Artist Award: Red Velvet, MONSTA X

Female Artist Popularity Award: MAMAMOO

Male Artist Popularity Award: Wanna One

World Social Artist Award: BTS

?Producer Award: Kim Do Hoon

Music Video Director Award: Hong Won Ki

Rookie Award: The Boyz, Stray Kids, NATURE, IZ

Trot Rookie Award: Kangnam, Seol Ha Yoon

Performance Award: Samuel, DIA

Trot Star Award: Tae Jin Ah, Hong Jin Young

Voice Award: Wheesung, GB9 (Gilgu Bonggu)

Social Voice Award: Seo J

Hip-Hop Artist Award: WINNER’s Song Mino

Queen of Trend Award: Seo In Young

Icon Award: NU’EST W

Rising Hot Star Award: Hyeongseop x Euiwoong, YDPP

R&B Artist Award: Crush

Music Star Award: Chungha, UNB

Overseas Entertainer Award: 7SENSES

Best OST Award: Jeong Se Woon (“It’s You” from What’s Wrong with Secretary Kim)

Netizen Popularity Award: EXO