Girls' Generation Unit 'Oh!GG' to Release New Album in September

Girls’ Generation-Oh!GG
Courtesy of SM Entertainment

Girls’ Generation-Oh!GG

Ayo, GG! There will be new music from South Korean girl group Girls’ Generation this year, though it’ll be from an altered line-up from what fans are familiar with.   

SM Entertainment announced on Monday (Aug. 27) in South Korea that five members will release a new album in September. The sub-unit of Girls’ Generation will be known as Oh!GG and features Sunny, Taeyeon, YoonA, Yuri, and Hyoyeon. They will release their first digital single as a quintet on Sept. 5. It will be titled "Lil' Touch" and feature a b-side "Fermata."   

Girls’ Generation was originally formed in 2007 by SM as a nine-membered team, and became an octet in 2014 with the departure of former member Jessica. Last October saw Tiffany, Sooyoung, and Seohyun opt out of renewing their contracts with SM Entertainment to pursue solo ventures. The eight-member line-up is still considered the primary team of Girls’ Generation, and Oh!GG is considered a sub-unit made up of the five members remaining under SM.

According to a press release from SM, the name refers to the exclamation "Oh!" and the initials of the girl group's English name. "Oh!GG" also sounds as if it’s derived from a Korean phrase, "ojida," that is used to mean “amazing” or “solid," while "Oh!" also happens to be the name of a 2010 single from the Korean girl group.

Oh!GG is the second unit group from within Girls' Generation following TTS, which was last active in 2015 and features Tiffany, Taeyeon, and Seohyun. They debuted on the Billboard 200 with Twinkle at No. 126 in 2012, two years before Girls' Generation's Mr. Mr debuted on the chart at No. 110.

“Lil’ Touch” will be the first single released under the Girls’ Generation title since last year’s 10th anniversary duo “Holiday” and “All Night" off of their 10th anniversary Holiday Night album, which went to No. 1 on the World Albums? chart last August.