BTS to Release New Album 'Love Yourself: Answer' in August: Update

Early on Monday (July 16), the official Twitter account for Korean group BTS alerted fans of the title of their upcoming August release. Dubbed Love Yourself: Answer, it is the third album from the act’s record-breaking Love Yourself series. It follows last year’s Love Yourself: Her and May’s Love Yourself: Tear.

Answer, their first album since making history with the Billboard 200 chart-topping Tear, will be released on Aug. Aug. 24. Pre-orders begin on July 18.

Few details are known at this time, but Billboard has reached out for comment.

BTS shared the info with their ARMY through a post uploaded to their fan-only blog, known as a "fan cafe" within the K-pop world.

Answer will reportedly complete the act’s four-part Love Yourself series, which fans have long-since discerned was inspired by a storytelling form known as ???? in Chinese characters, or ???? in Korean. The term refers to four narrative elements: introduction, development, turn or twist, and conclusion. Each of the three albums and the act’s “Love Yourself: Wonder" video released in April, correlate to: Introduction-”Wonder,” which featured the song “Euphoria” performed by Jungkook; Development-Her, released last September; Turn-Tear, which made history as the first No. 1 Korean album to ever top the Billboard 200.

In October, BTS revealed that 3% of all physical album sales for the Love Yourself series will be donated to UNICEF in relation to the group’s Love Myself campaign.

BTS will not promote Answer’s music on South Korean weekly music shows but instead unveil the new songs at the Seoul stops of their Love Yourself World tour. The concert series kicks off on Aug. 25-26 at Seoul's Olympic Stadium. The septet will then head to North America for over a dozen sold-out shows in the U.S. and Canada.

Update: Later on Monday (Tuesday in South Korea) BTS' label Big Hit Entertainment tweeted a link to an article by Hankguk Kyeongjae TV (Korea Business News) that stated the album will be a an extended reissue, or repackage, album. It will feature seven new tracks. In the past, the group has released extended versions of albums, such as 2016’s The Most Beautiful Moment In Life: Young Forever, which featured all of the songs originally released through the earlier The Most Beautiful Moment in Life, Pt. 1 and Pt. 2 albums.