Wanna One & Chung Ha Announced as First K-Pop Artists Heading to KCON 2018 LA

Wanna One, KCON 2017
Greg Doherty/Getty Images

Wanna One attend the Red Carpet Photo Op at KCON 2017 at LA Conventtion Center on Aug. 20, 2017 in Los Angeles. 

The first artists heading to the West Coast leg of this year’s KCON USA event are the immensely popular soloist Chung Ha and the 11-member boy band Wanna One.

The pair of K-pop acts will perform at KCON 2018 LA throughout the weekend of August 10-12. It will return to Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center, where it has been held since 2015.

Both Wanna One and Chung Ha are top K-pop acts that grew out of the popular South Korean television show Produce 101, which is produced by KCON sponsor Mnet. Wanna One resulted after the 2017 season, while Chung Ha was one of the inaugural 2016 season’s winners, which landed her a role in the girl group I.O.I.

Wanna One released their first album 1X1=1 (To Be One) last summer, and debuted at No. 3 on the World Albums chart. The team has released two albums since, and will drop a new album 1÷x=1 (Undivided) on June 4. It will be fronted by the single "Light." Formed as a temporary act, they are expected to disband at the end of 2018.

Meanwhile, Chung Ha rose to fame post-I.O.I with the release of last year’s widely popular “Why Don’t You Know” featuring Nucksal. She has since retained her status as one of the most prominent young female soloists in South Korea with January’s “Roller Coaster.” The lead single from her Offset project led the EP to No. 13 on the World Albums chart.  

KCON 2018 LA will not be the first KCON USA appearance for either: Chung Ha performed with I.O.I in 2016 and Wanna One appeared at KCON 2017 LA. They will also perform at KCON NY in June, and the boy band will also bring their solo concerts to several other states.

KCON 2018 LA will be preceded by KCON NY, held on June 23-24 in Newark, New Jersey, at the Prudential Center. Along with Wanna One, it will also feature EXID, fromis_9, Golden Child, NCT 127, Pentagon, Red Velvet, Stray Kids and Super Junior.