K-Town

BTS Confirm 'Fake Love' Single With New Teaser Video: Watch

Korean septet BTS released an eerie teaser video for their upcoming single “Fake Love” on Monday, May 14, just four days before the release of their upcoming Love Yourself: Tear album.  

The single’s title was previously unveiled through Variety, though it went unconfirmed by BTS and label Big Hit Entertainment until this teaser video dropped. It is one of 11 tracks set to be released on Love Yourself: Tear, alongside the previously released V-solo “Singularity.”  

The teaser video only features a short snippet of “Fake Love,” with BTS’ members singing unaccompanied by instruments. Visually, the clip is based around the psychodramatic technique known as “magic shop,” with each of the seven men exchanging objects with a haunting, masked-figure. It appears to continue the storyline previously featured in past BTS music videos and related imagery.

“Magic Shop” is also a track featured on Tear. According to the American Academy of Psychotherapists website, the psychodramatic idea of “magic shop” creates situations in which therapists serve as shopkeepers and patients as shoppers, in which psychological change may occur through bartering and risk-taking situations

BTS will perform “Fake Love” at the Billboard Music Awards on Sunday, May 20. They are nominated for the Top Social Artist award, which they won last year.

Despite a typo in the original "Fake Love" trailer Love Yourself: Tear will be released on May 18 globally at 6 p.m. KST, 5 a.m. EST and 2 a.m. PST. An alternate, corrected version has since been uploaded to YouTube.