BTS Announce New Full-Length Album 'Love Yourself: Tear' To Be Released in May

Korean boy band BTS took to Twitter today to announce their next project, Love Yourself: Tear. The new album is set to be released on May 18.  

The sequel to last year’s Love Yourself: Her, Tear is the second in the group’s Love Yourself series and follows the release of the record-breaking Japanese Face Yourself album. Unlike Her, Tear will be a full-length album. It will be the group’s third LP, following 2014's Dark & Wild and 2016's Wings.

With each of BTS’ subsequent releases since Love Yourself: Her, including J-Hope’s solo Hope World and their Japanese album, resonating well on the Billboard 200, Love Yourself: Tear is one of the most-highly anticipated albums this year.

Little is known about Tear, though the news of its release comes a few weeks after BTS dropped their "Euphoria: Theme of Love Yourself Wonder" video, which appeared to connect narratives the K-pop act had featured in past music videos. The video was initially believed to hint to the group’s next album being titled Love Yourself: Wonder based on a wide-spread fan theory related to Korean literary terms and storytelling techniques, but it was later denied.

According to BTS’ official fan site, known as a fan cafe in Korea, pre-orders of the album will go on sale on April 18. The pre-orders sales for Love Yourself: Her reached 1.05 million copies, and the album eventually peaked at No. 7 on the Billboard 200 album chart.

The boy band has rapidly grown to become one of the most dominant international acts in the American music industry, with millions of fans from around the country and the globe cheering on the septet. They won the top Social Artist award at the Billboard Music Awards last year, and have appeared on the Social 50 for 78 weeks.