Block B Delivers Mellow New Single 'Don't Leave'

Block B, "Don't Leave"
Courtesy Photo

Block B, "Don't Leave"

Back in November, Block B turned heads with the slinky “Shall We Dance," and now they’re back with the mellow “Don’t Leave.”

Released on Monday (Jan. 8), the boy band’s newest song leads their album Re: Montage, a reissued version of last year’s Montage. With a gentle pop-rock melody and subtle synths, the midtempo track, written by member Park Kyung, emphasizes Block B’s emotive side through heartfelt vocals and raps. 

The song's music video isolates each member of Block B as they mournfully reflect on their love through a variety of desolate scenes, ranging from beaches to empty party rooms to abandoned bus terminals. The grimy visuals are softened by repeated, gentle effects like undulating waves and fluttering banners, but overall maintain the gloomy atmosphere of the song.

Along with the single, the updated album also features solo tracks from two members: Jaehyo delivered a soft ballad in the form of “At Last,” while U-Kwon dropped a groovy alt R&B track “Everythin’.”

Throughout their career, Block B has pursued a variety of sounds, ranging from bombastic party tracks to sentimental ballads, and they found success with each through the diverse skill set of the members, several of whom have pursued successful solo careers as balladeers and hip-hop artists, like Park Kyung and Zico, the latter gaining recognition as one of South Korea’s most popular rapper-songwriters.

Over the years, the K-pop group has frequently appeared on the World Albums chart, with last year’s Montage peaking at No. 11.

Watch the music video for “Don’t Leave” here:


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.