Returning as a Six-Member Act, INFINITE Gears Up for Third Korean LP 'Top Seed'

Courtesy Photo


The K-pop boy band's third album comes after the departure of Hoya last year.

K-pop boy band INFINITE will return next week with a new album, their first as a six-member act. The group will release Top Seed, their third Korean studio album, on Monday. It will be the first album for the group without Hoya, who departed the act in August.

The 12-track LP comes more than a year since INFINITE released their last Korean album, the 2016 EP INFINITE Only, and six months since May’s Japanese album Air.

Top Seed will be fronted by the single “Tell Me,” which appears to be an EDM track, based on a teaser video dropped by the group on Wednesday.

According to the album's track list revealed on Twitter Top Seed prominently features the Korean songwriter BLSSD, also known as BEE of Rphabet, whom INFINITE has worked with on several songs, including their most recent Korean singles “The Eye” and “Bad.” The album also features one track, “Pray (Maetel’s Sadness),” by Sweetune, the songwriting team behind many of INFINITE’s greatest hits; it is the first Sweetune track on one of the band’s Korean albums since 2014’s Season 2.

Band members Dongwoo (Jang Dongwoo) and L (Kim Myungsoo) also contributed to the album; Dongwoo co-wrote his solo track “TGIF," while L is credited as a lyricist of his solo track "Last Day."

Along with traditional teaser videos that preview the title track “Tell Me,” INFINITE has promoted the new album through a variety of images and videos focusing on the group as a whole and individual members. Since Jan. 1, INFINITE released three videos, each one featuring either Sungkyu, Sungyeol and Sungjong, showing the members on what appears to be the set of the album shoot. Three additional videos featuring Dongwoo, L and Woohyun are expected to be released prior to the album.

The once-septet became a six-member team last year, after Hoya (Lee Howon) opted out of renewing his contract with Woollim Entertainment and left the label while the other members opted to remain under the Korean label. The multi-talented entertainer, who served as one of INFINITE’s primary rappers and lead dancers and also pursued a career as an actor, has since signed with Glorious Entertainment.

INFINITE debuted in 2010 and gained popularity through their brand of retro-tinged synthpop and impressively synchronized dance performances with hits including "Be Mine," "Before the Dawn" and "The Chaser." Several of the group's albums have appeared on the World Albums chart, where Infinite Only most recently appeared at No. 3, while numerous singles by the group have charted in the top five of the Japan Hot 100 chart.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.