EXO Have the 'Power' In New Superhero-Inspired Music Video: Watch

EXO, "Power"
Courtesy Photo

EXO, "Power"

Channeling B-list superhero and sci-fi flicks, Korean boy band EXO dropped a playful music video for their new single “Power” on Tuesday.

One of three new songs off ofThe Power of Music, the extended re-release of July’s The War, “Power” is an upbeat EDM track laden with quirky synths and pounding drums while the boy band sings about how music is a force that brings people together. Dynamic as it shifts tones between harmonious vocals and bouncing raps to build into a vibrant choral hook, the track lives up to its name and is one of EXO’s most energetic singles to date.

Accompanying the propulsive track, EXO has released a music video that plays up the boy band’s more comical side, turning the group into a squad of soldiers fighting against a robot intent on killing them. Featuring animation and scenes that appear derived from video games series and the likes of Power Rangers and Cartoon Network, the five-minute long video matches the song's lively style, blending humor and drama as EXO fight for their lives.

Laden with slapstick action, puppets, and members breaking the fourth wall --and being turned into animated characters -- the music video recalls the band’s go-to storyline, EXO’s origin story featuring the members as extraterrestrial beings with elemental powers. It features the eight members (ninth member Lay is absent) as soldiers on a wasteland of an exoplanet, battling a sentient robot who has stolen those very magical abilities, which they eventually win back.

A far cry from EXO's typically chic music videos, the highlight of “Power” comes after the heroes win the day and level up, only for a cat -- with an ‘L’ on the collar as a nod to EXO’s fandom EXO-L -- joining in, to interrupt things and turn the men into cartoons, before they return to normal and display their supernatural abilities. The clip closes with member Baekhyun drifting in water, which reportedly leads into the plot of a comic that’s included in the physical version of the The Power of Music. 

The new album, released on Sept. 5, contains three new songs along with the original tracks featured on The War, which saw EXO achieve their highest rank on the Billboard 200 at No. 87. Aside from the LDN Noise-produced single, the extended album features the smooth R&B track "Sweet Lies," with lyrics by Chanyeol and R&B artist G.Soul, the funky "Boomerang,” and an instrumental version of the new single.