Far East Movement's Globally Focused 'Identity' Album Kicks Off With 'Freal Luv' Video ft. Tinashe, Marshmello & EXO's Chanyeol: Exclusive

Far East Movement
Transparent Agency

Far East Movement

Far East Movement are out to conquer every territory and genre with their upcoming album Identity, which brings together stars of the east and the west for an ambitious project, Billboard can exclusively reveal.

While the internationally minded LP combines stars from all over the world, there is an emphasis on American and Korean stars, a nod to the "Like a G6" trio's beginnings in K-Town, Los Angeles. It's appropriate that the record is introduced by its most ambitious cut, "Freal Luv," which features California R&B-pop star Tinashe, mysterious DJ Marshmello, and Chanyeol, a rapper in K-pop boy band phenom EXO.

"Identity has always been an issue with us, from how we perceive ourselves as Americans to how people actually see us, and how Asia sees us as foreigners while people in the U.S. might think Asia is home to us," the band tells Billboard of creating the album. "When we were first starting in the music industry people would telling us to wear glasses and change our name from Far East movement because it's 'too Asian.' It was a different time, but that type of stuff stays with you and affects your perspective...we decided to disconnect, work on building our production and writing skills, spend time traveling around Asia learning the music scene, the business culture and proper customs. The trips gave us some real clarity on our own identity and what we want to do next in our own lives, which gave us the inspiration to make a new album. Identity is a Far East Movement, in a sense, bridging artists from the east with artists from the west while fusing different genres we love."

Identity drops in full worldwide on Oct. 21. Other standout collaborators include Tiffany of K-pop superstars Girls' Generation, the U.K.'s "Never Forget You" singer-producer MNEK, Korean-American MC Jay Park, Mississippi rapper-producer Big K.R.I.T., Hyolyn of K-pop hitmakers Sistar, veteran soul siren Macy Gray, groundbreaking Korean rapper-singer Yoonmirae, viral MC Soulja Boy, K-R&B act Urban Zapaka, and many more.

See the full track list below:

1. Far East Movement, "Fighter" ft. Yoonmirae & Autolaser
2. Far East Movement x Marshmello, "Freal Luv" ft. Chanyeol & Tinashe
3. Far East Movement, "F-VR" ft. Candice Pillay & No Riddim
4. Far East Movement, "Church" ft. Elijah Blake 
5. Far East Movement, "Don't Speak" ft. Tiffany & King Chain
6. Far East Movement, "SXWME" ft. Jay Park (Prod. MNEK)
7. Far East Movement, "Umbrella" ft. Hyolyn & Gill Chang
8. Far East Movement, "Double Dip" ft. Soulja Boy & Loco
9. Far East Movement, "FBG$" ft. Big K.R.I.T. & MIKNNA
10. Far East Movement, "Forever Survivor" ft. Macy Gray
11. Far East Movement, "Fortress" ft. Urban Zakapa

You can pre-order Identity now via Apple Music.