Billboard Hot 100 Fest

Girls' Generation Reveal Retro 'Lion Heart' Album Cover, Unconventional Release Strategy

Courtesy of SM Entertainment
Girls' Generation, 'Lion Heart'

A new Girls' Generation album is almost upon us and the ladies are toying with the typical release strategy.

The K-pop phenoms announced their new record Lion Heart on their Facebook with its album cover and individual promo photos of all eight members. The album cover boasted a '50s, pin-up style with the gals rocking vintage dresses with old-school-inspired 'dos.

Peep the full cover below:

 

According to the post, Lion Heart will be released throughout two days. Six new songs, including the single "Lion Heart," will be released on Aug. 18, at noon KST (or 11:00pm EST on Aug. 17). Then, 12 hours later, another six new songs including the album's other single "You Think," will be released on Aug. 19, at midnight KST (or 11:00am EST on Aug. 18). Scroll for the full tracklist below.

It's atypical strategy, but not one that's totally uncommon in K-pop. In 2013, G-Dragon's Coup D'Etat record was released in two parts, with the Pt. 1 EP landing on the Billboard 200.

No word on whether Lion Heart will be two EPs on iTunes or be released as a full-length album in America, but whatever the release, it's likely to make a splash on the charts: Girls' Generation's last release, their Mr.Mr. EP from 2014, hit No. 110 on the Billboard 200, making it one of the highest-charting K-pop albums ever in America.

GG first teased their new album in late June with a video previewing all three new singles they had set for the summer. The first, "Party," was unveiled in early July and topped the charts in South Korea, while hitting No. 4 on Billboard's World Digital Songs. Get a taste of what's to come below along with the tracklist:

 Aug. 18:
1. 
Lion Heart
2. Party
3. Fire Alarm
4. Green Light
5. Paradise
6. Bump It 

Aug. 19:
7.
 You Think
8. One Afternoon
9. Show Girls
10. Talk Talk
11. Check
12. Sign