4minute Announces 4th Mini-Album With Electric Concept Photos


HyunA, Gayoon, Jiyoon, Jihyun and Sohyun make their K-pop comeback in late April

Just like that a series of concept photos has confirmed the return of five-member girl group 4minute.

The female outfit, consisting of members HyunA, Gayoon, Jiyoon, Jihyun and Sohyun will release their fourth mini-album on April 25th. 4minute's previous mini-albums have all contained seven tracks so it is likely bet for seven new songs.

The announcement was made on label Cube Entertaniment's Twitter account with electifying photos of each member as well as one group teaser (seen above). The quintet radiate in glow-in-the-dark paint, makeup, clothes and accessories in a dark room. Gayoon’s teaser photo is perhaps most remarkable with her eyebrows painted neon orange while HyunA's offers a sexy take on the concept with a short dress shirt and garters.

Recently, news circulated that 4minute would return with a concept based around their debut four years ago. Their earliest tracks like ultra-AutoTuned “Muzik” and synth-heavy “Hot Issue” (both below) emphasized an aggressive rap-sing delivery over the dance-pop productions. The electrifying concept photos may indicate a return to their electro origins. 

In the four years since their debut, the girls have grown and shown different colors in their music. HyunA has proved herself a solo star with her singles like "Bubble Pop!" and "Ice Cream" while Gayoon and Jiyoon teamed up for sub-unit project 2YOON that dabbled in a country-pop sound -- a very unique sound in K-pop -- with "24/7."

HyunA also co-starred in PSY's "Gangnam Style" music video making her one of the most visible stars of the genre.

Their latest hit was the saxophone-centered, dance number “Volume Up" that mashed belting vocals with talk-sing verses. It was another hit for the girls peaking at No. 3 and landed at No. 38 on the year-end K-Pop Hot 100 for 2012.