Lil Durk Announces Departure From Def Jam, Premieres New Video 'How I Know' Feat. Lil Baby: Exclusive

Lil Durk
Jerry PhD

Lil Durk

After spending five years with Def Jam Records, Lil Durk exclusively tells Billboard that he has departed from the label and is going the independent route.

"I've been with Def Jam Records for five years and they gave me my first recording contract so for that I'm forever grateful," Durk says. "But I'm a different artist than I was five years ago, and the time is right for a change. At the same time, Def Jam is making changes in their offices and trying a new direction. I didn't want to be a part of another regime change."

During his time at Def Jam, Durk released two albums: Remember My Name in 2015 and Lil Durk 2X in 2016. In 2017, Durk went on a blistering run, releasing four mixtapes, including two collaborative projects: Supa Vultures with Lil Reese and Bloodas with Tee Grizzley

In light of his announcement, Durk will be releasing his new mixtape, Just 'Cause Y'all Waited, on Friday, featuring Ty Dolla $ign, PARTYNEXTDOOR and Lil Baby. As an appetizer, Durk premieres his new video "How I Know" to get his fans psyched for his first official mixtape as an independent artist. 

Check out his video for "How I Know" and the track list for Just 'Cause Y'all Waited below.

1. "Public Housing" (prod. Sonic)

2. "Just Flow" (prod. Money Bag)

3. "When I Was Little" (prod. DY Krazy)

4. "How I Know" f/Lil Baby (prod. Will A Fool)

5. "Granny Crib" (prod. ATL Jacob)

6. "1 773 Vulture"

7. "Breather" f/PartyNextDoor & Ty Dolla $ign (prod. Nard & B)

8. "Home Body" f/Gunna & TK Kravitz (prod. DY Krazy)

9. "Durkio Krazy" (prod. DY Krazy)

10. "Instigator" (prod. Go Grizz)

11. "Crossroads" (prod. Supreme Beats)

12. "My Bruddas" (prod. ATL Jacob)