Lupe Fiasco Gets Energized on New Album 'Drogas Light': Exclusive First Listen

It’s lit! Lupe Fiasco has flicked the switch on Drogas Light (1st & 15th Productions/Thirty Tigers), and Billboard has the exclusive stream right here. 

Drogas Light represents a new beginning for Fiasco. And the beginning of the end. 

It’s the first blast in a trilogy of albums -- Drogas Light, Drogas and Skull – which are tentatively set to roll out this year through a new label relationship. Fiasco parted ways with his former label Atlantic Records following the release of 2015’s Tetsuo & Youth, which reached No. 14 on the Billboard 200 chart. Now independent, Chicago native acknowledges his trilogy will mark the final chapters in his career. 

Fiasco briefly considered retirement in late 2016 after taking flack over the lyrics for his "N.E.R.D." freestyle. The rapper, however, had a change of mind and got to work with some high-profile buddies, from Rick Ross to Big K.R.I.T., Ty Dolla $ign and others, all of whom guest on the new album.

The 14-track set also features the previously released singles "Jump" featuring Gizzle and "Wild Child.” 

“While Drogas Light signifies the beginning of the end for Fiasco, it represents how far he’s come since he first entered the game and merely accents the intellectual breadth of the discography he’ll leave behind,” reads a statement from Fiasco’s reps.

Listen to Drogas Light below.