Robert Glasper Experiment Launches 'ArtScience' Album With 'Find You'

Robert Glasper photographed in 2016
Johnny Nunez/WireImage

Robert Glasper attends the Artium Grammy Brunch at Private Residence on Feb. 12, 2016 in Los Angeles.

Robert Glasper Experiment turns the spotlight on its four core members with the band’s next outing, ArtScience. Prefacing the album’s Sept. 16 release is lead single “Find You.”

Keyboardist Glasper, saxophonist Casey Benjamin, bassist Derrick Hodge and drummer Mark Colenburg share vocal, production and songwriting duties on ArtScience. “Find You,” co-written by all four band members and featuring Hodge on lead vocals, also sports a guest appearance by Glasper’s young son Riley.

The eclectic set is the follow-up to the Experiment’s Grammy Award-winning Black Radio series. Those projects included collaborations with Erykah Badu, Norah Jones, Lalah Hathaway, Bilal, KING and Snoop Dogg, among others.

“People need to hear what the Experiment sounds like, just us -- know what our vibe is and can be,” said Glasper in a press release announcing the new album.

Robert Glasper Pays Tribute to Kobe Bryant's 20-Year NBA Career With 'Be Courageous': Billboard Exclusive

Between last year and now, Glasper scored Don Cheadle’s Miles Ahead film, reimagined Miles Davis’ catalog on Everything Is Beautiful and played keyboards on the latest projects by Kendrick Lamar, Anderson .Paak and Maxwell. The diverse Glasper is now collaborating on upcoming albums from Herbie Hancock, Common and Mac Miller.

ArtScience (Blue Note) is available for pre-order now on iTunes and Amazon. Those pre-ordering the download will instantly receive lead track “Find You,” which is also available as a single on streaming services.

Here is the ArtScience track listing:

  1. This Is Not Fear

  2. Thinkin Bout You

  3. Day to Day

  4. No One Like You

  5. You and Me

  6. Tell Me a Bedtime Story

  7. Find You

  8. In My Mind

  9. Hurry Slowly

10. Written in Stone

11. Let's Fall in Love

12. Human