Mistah F.A.B. Announces New Album, Shares First Single With Jadakiss: Exclusive

Mistah Fab 2016
Ben Rose/Getty Images

Mistah Fab performs at the 3rd Annual Ozone Awards in Houson.

Bay Area rap veteran Mistah F.A.B. has taken a step back from commercially releasing music of late, releasing a few mixtapes and returning to the battle rap scene from which he emerged more than a decade ago since his last solo album, 2012's Da Yellow Bus Rydah. But today the MC announces his new LP Son of a Pimp Part 2, the sequel to his 2005 Son of a Pimp project, is slated for a May 27 release and Billboard premieres the first single from the album, "What Yo Hood Like" featuring Jadakiss, below.

The song is a slow-burning production supplied by Pete Rock with both MCs trading stories of Yonkers and the Bay. And Jada and Pete Rock are just two of the many impressive names that litter the tracklist; F.A.B. brings together Kendrick Lamar, Crooked I and Kobe Honeycutt on one track and Snoop Dogg, Too $hort and Bobby V on another, both produced by Tha Bizness; puts Raekwon, G-Eazy and Carl Thomas on the same song; collects Houston's Bun B, Slim Thug, Paul Wall and Z-Ro on another; and includes a verse from the late Bay Area MC The Jacka, who was shot and killed last February. 

"The features are pivotal and key and each song represents a story and a mood that brings the whole significance of the project together," F.A.B. tells Billboard about the guest spots, which also include appearances from Lupe Fiasco, ScHoolboy Q, Curren$y, Boosie Badazz, 2 Chainz, E-40 and Tech N9ne, among others. "The reason or connections related to each feature is a story in and of itself."

F.A.B. had been a rising star in Oakland after the release of the original Son of a Pimp a decade ago, before major label delays and a dispute with local radio station KMEL dealt a blow to his career trajectory. Since then, he's re-dedicated himself to battle rapping and been working behind the scenes as a writer for songs like B.o.B's "Headband" and Chris Brown's "Loyal," and is now looking to re-introduce himself to his fans.

"For the music lovers, this project embodies everything that I am; the diversity, versatility, my outlook on life, my perception on [everything from] the casual things to political things," he says. "With Eminem, we knew [his daughter] Haley, his family life. With Tupac, we knew [his mother] Afeni, we knew his best friend Kato. With DMX, we knew who Boomer, his dog, was. You’re going to know who I am after listening to this album if you didn’t already know. I give it to you on all levels."

Check out "What Yo Hood Like" above and the full tracklist for Son of a Pimp 2 below.

1. Liberty Forever Intro
2. Son of A Pimp (feat. CMT) [prod. by The Mekanix]
3. Not In Love Anymore (feat. Netta B) [prod. by Tha Bizness]
4. Pretty Girls (feat. Raekwon, G-Eazy, Carl Thomas) [prod. by Chinky P]
5. Up Until Then (feat. Boosie Badazz & Iamsu!) [prod. by Iamsu!]
6. Survive (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Crooked I, Kobe Honeycutt) [prod. by Tha Bizness]
7. All Around The World (feat. Keyshia Cole & Silk-E)  [prod. by The Mekanix]
8. What Yo Hood Like (feat. Jadakiss) [prod. by Pete Rock]
9. Backseat (feat. Tech N9ne, B.o.B.) [prod. by Chinky P]
10. Finna Do (feat. Iamsu! & Idaho J Doe) [prod. by Juneonnabeat]
11. Black Hollywood (Too $hort, Snoop Dogg, Bobby V) [prod. by Tha Bizness]
12. Still Feelin It [prod. by Sean T]
13. IDKW2D (feat. 2 Chainz) [prod. by Ekzakt]
14. Memory Lane (feat. Dyson) [prod. by Elusive Orkestra]
15. On All Mommaz (feat. Keak Da Sneak, E-40) [prod. by P-Lo]
16. The Chill (feat. Currensy Spitta & ScHoolboy Q) [prod. by Elusive Orkestra]
17. Yes Indeed (feat. Fashawn, Lupe Fiasco) [prod. by Jake One]
18. Commin Down (feat. Bun B., Slim Thug, Paul Wall, Z-Ro) [prod. by S.E. Trill]
19. Disrespectful (feat. Too $hort, Devin The Dude, Erk Tha Jerk) [prod. by Erk Tha Jerk]
20. Brother to Brother (feat. Dyson) 
21. Written in Blood (feat. J. Stalin & the Jacka) [prod. by Lev Berlak]