Everything We Know About Kanye West's 'Waves' Album (So Far)

Kanye West at iHeartRadio Music Festival 2015
John Shearer/Getty Images

Kanye West at iHeartRadio Music Festival 2015 in the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas

Kanye West lives his truth. Whether conjuring up designs to conquer runways or waxing poetic about LeBron James or real friends, the Chicago rep is (finally) diverting his attention to Waves (f.k.a. Swish)the follow-up to 2013's Yeezus.

While rumors about his seventh studio LP have been swirling for about as long as his daughter North has been alive, here's a handy dandy guide to Waves -- which he possibly confirmed will be out on either Feb. 11 or Feb. 12.

1. 'Ye is releasing a new Waves track every Friday, per his wife. 

Hours before Mr. West gifted the Internet with "Real Friends" and a preview of "No More Parties in LA," Kim Kardashian took to her own timeline and tweeted:

Kanye West Releases 'Real Friends,' Previews 'No More Parties In L.A.' Feat. Kendrick Lamar

2. There's a lot of chefs in the studio.

Scroll through the production credits for Kanye's first Waves sampler "All Day" and it reads like a VIP list: Kanye West, Paul McCartney, Tyler Bryant, Kendrick Lamar, Karim Kharbouch (French Montana), Cydel Young (Cyhi the Prynce), Victor Mensah (Vic Mensa), Mike Dean, Che Pope, Noah Goldstein, Allen Ritter, Mario Winans, Charles Njapa, Malik Yusef Jones, Patrick Reynolds, Ernest Brown & Noel Ellis. "Only One" boasted All-Star producers Paul McCartney and Mike Dean while the "Jumpman"-lifting "Facts" carried frequent Future collaborators Metro Boomin and Southside. Vic Mensa and Sia appeared on "Wolves." "Real Friends" was also a group art project, as 'Ye outlined on Twitter:

Madlib & Swizz Beatz is also set to make an appearance after 'Ye shared photos of their recent studio session.

Ty Dolla $ign Talks Recording 'Only One' With Kanye West & Reveals Rihanna Collabo

3. Ty Dolla $ign is getting shine.

A booming record known to timelines as "Fade" first appeared at Kanye's Yeezy Season 2 launch during New York Fashion Week 2015 before debuting in full during a DJ set in London from his creative director Virgil Abloh last November. The track featured rapper Post Malone and West Coast crooner Ty Dolla $ign, who also gave 'Ye the assist on "Real Friends," "Only One" and six other tracks he says he worked on with West. 

"One day my homie Ricky Anderson [Kanye's cousin] hit me up and was like, 'Kanye wants you to come work with him in Mexico,' so I came out there [and] we did like nine songs in one day; one of them happened to be 'Only One,'" Ty told Billboard last January.

4. The album was originally titled So Help Me God

He then announced the name change last May.

5. Kanye is all about his family business.

From his emotional "Only One" record -- accompanied by a video shot on an iPhone that starred his daughter North -- to the recently released "Real Friends," this family man has gone through a slew of personal life changes since releasing "Family Business" on his 2004 debut College Dropout

Kanye West Drops New 'Only One' Single on New Year's Eve

6. There's no telling what percentage of the album is done.

Conflicting reports from 'Ye collaborators about the album's completion have popped up throughout the past year and a half. Theophilus London said in September 2014 on Instagram, "So shortly after this picture I Only remember kanye playing his new album 3 times in a dark room of 20 people last night and moshing drunk with mad babes haha." 

Over a year later, London tweeted:

Given West's reputation as a mad genius, don't be surprised if he decides to trash whatever exists of Waves today and flip it to something completely different tomorrow. His latest update on the album, though: still a work in progress.

7. The album is now called Waves

On Jan. 26, Kanye renamed his LP to Waves. After tweeting out a handwritten track list during the project's last days under the name Swish, Mr. West said he was "so happy to be finished with the best album of all time." Several studio dates later, he unveiled the new album name along with the same scrawled tracklist featuring signatures from Swizz Beatz, The-Dream, A$AP Rocky and his Kardashian-Jenner kin.

After rapper Wiz Khalifa made a case for Max B as the original "wave" purveyor, Kanye sent out a series of tweets to shut down any slander against the imprisoned MC and teased one of his tracks.

Waves is also set to make its official New York Fashion Week debut when West presents it at Madison Square Garden for his Yeezy Season 3 show on Feb. 11.