Public Enemy Gets Deluxe Reissues of 'It Takes A Nation' & 'Fear Of A Black Planet'

Public Enemy, 1988.
Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images

Flavor Flav, Professor Griff, Terminator X, S1W and Chuck D of Public Enemy pose for a portrait in a studio. 

Def Jam is continuing its 30th anniversary celebrations with plans to reissue Public Enemy's 1988 breakthrough album It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back and their follow up Fear of a Black Planet in multi disc deluxe sets. The reissues will include the classic hip-hop albums as the were originally released, as well as as bonus tracks and liner notes by Questlove of the Roots and Wax Poetics editor-in-chief Andre Torres.

Watch Public Enemy Rock a Classic Track With the Roots on 'Fallon'

On Nation of Millions, the bonus material includes hard-to-find tracks, B-sides and alternate versions including different mixes for "Bring the Noise" and an instrumental of "Rebel Without a Pause." It also has a horn-heavy version of "Fight the Power," as originally heard on the soundtrack to Spike Lee's Do the Right Thing and video content including the out-of-print video Fight the Power...Live, music videos and live performances. 

The Fear of a Black Planet reissue includes remixes of "Brothers Gonna Work It Out" and "Can't Do Nuttin' for Ya Man," a number of instrumentals and alternate mixes of "Fight the Power" -- one of which was heavily featured in Do the Right Thing. 

Both reissues will released Nov. 25. 

It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back Deluxe Edition Track List:

Disc One:

1. "Countdown To Armageddon"
2. "Bring The Noise"
3. "Don't Believe The Hype"
4. "Cold Lampin' With Flavor"
5. "Terminator X To The Edge Of Panic"
6. "Mind Terrorist"
7. "Louder Than A Bomb"
8. "Caught, Can We Get A Witness?"
9. "Show 'Em Whatcha Got"
10. "She Watch Channel Zero?!"
11. "Night Of The Living Baseheads"
12. "Black Steel In The Hour of Chaos"
13. "Security Of The First World"
14. "Rebel Without A Pause"
15. "Prophets Of Rage"
16. "Party For Your Right To Fight"

Disc Two (Bonus Tracks):

1. "Bring The Noise (No Noise Version)"
2. "Bring The Noise (No Noise Instrumental)"
3. "Bring The Noise (No Noise A Cappella)"
4. "Rebel Without A Pause (Instrumental)"
5. "Night Of The Living Baseheads (Anti-High Blood Pressure Encounter Mix)"
6. "Night Of The Living Baseheads (Terminator X Meets DST And Chuck Chill Out Instrumental Mix)"
7. "Terminator X To The Edge Of Panic (No Need To Panic Radio Version)"
8. "The Edge Of Panic"
9. "The Rhythm, The Rebel (A Capella)"
10. "Prophets Of Rage (Power Version)"
11. "Caught, Can We Get A Witness? (Pre Black Steel Ballistic Felony Dub)"
12. "B-Side Wins Again (Original Version)"
13. "Black Steel In The Hour Of Chaos (Instrumental)"
14. "Fight The Power (Soundtrack Version)"

Disc Three (Fight the Power...Live DVD):

1. "Countdown to Armageddon"
2. "Public Enemy Number One"
3. "Miuzi Weighs A Ton"
4. "Night Of The Living Baseheads (Live)"
5. "Fight The Power"
6. "Bring The Noise"
7. "Don't Believe The Hype"
8. "Black Steel In The Hour Of Chaos"
9. "Rebel Without A Pause"
10. "Terminator X To The Edge Of Panic"
11. "Night Of The Living Baseheads (Video)"
12. "Prophets Of Rage"

Fear Of A Black Planet Deluxe Edition Track List:

Disc One:

1. "Contract On The World Love Jam (Instrumental)"
2. "Brothers Gonna Work It Out"
3. "911 Is A Joke"
4. "Incident At 66.6 FM (Instrumental)"
5. "Welcome To The Terrordome"
6. "Meet the G That Killed Me"
7. "Pollywanacraka"
8. "Anti-Nigger Machine"
9. "Burn Hollywood Burn (featuring Ice Cube)"
10. "Power To The People"
11. "Who Stole The Soul?"
12. "Fear Of A Black Planet"
13. "Revolutionary Generation"
14. "Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya, Man!"
15. "Reggie Jax"
16. "Leave This Off Your Fu*kin Charts (Instrumental)"
17. "B Side Wins Again"
18. "War At 33 1/3?
19. "Final Count Of The Collision Between Us And The Damned (Instrumental)"
20. "Fight The Power"

Disc Two (Bonus Tracks):

1. "Brothers Gonna Work It Out (Remix)"
2. "Brothers Gonna Work It Out (Dub)"
3. "Flavor Flav"
4. "Terrorbeat"
5. "Welcome To The Terrordome (Terrormental)"
6. "Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya Man (Full Rub Mix)"
7. "Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya Man (U.K. 12? Powermix)"
8. "Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya Man (Dub Mixx)"
9. "Burn Hollywood Burn (Extended Censored Fried To The Radio Version)"
10. "Anti-Nigger Machine (Uncensored Extended)"
11. "911 Is A Joke (Instrumental)"
12. "Power To The People (Instrumental)"
13. "Revolutionary Generation (Instrumental)"
14. "War At 33 1/3 (Instrumental)"
15. "Fight The Power (Soundtrack Version)"
16. "Fight The Power (Powersax)"
17. "Fight The Power (Flavor Flav Meets Spike Lee)"
18. "The Enemy Assault Vehicle Mixx (Medley)"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.