Jason Aldean to Release 30-Track Double Album 'Macon, Georgia' in 2022

Jason Aldean
Joseph Llanes

Jason Aldean

Jason Aldean is the latest country artist to craft a double album, announcing his upcoming 30-track project, Macon, Georgia, set for release April 22, 2022. The album's title pays homage to Aldean's hometown and state. The current single from the project, "If I Didn't Love You" featuring Carrie Underwood, sits in the top five on Billboard's Country Airplay chart.

Aldean will roll out new music over the next several months, leading up to the April 22 release. On Nov. 12, he will unveil nine more new tracks, in addition to five live tracks. The same day as the full album release, Aldean will also release a commemorative three-disc vinyl set of the project.

"Where you were raised has such a big influence on who you become and for me it’s no different ... especially from a music standpoint," said Aldean in a statement. "My little hometown of Macon was heavily instrumental in my musical background. Growing up in an environment that was a crossroads between country music, southern rock, blues and R&B, it was just natural to blend different sounds in my on way.”

Aldean's upcoming album, which reunited him with longtime producer Michael Knox,  follows other extensive country album projects released since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, including Luke Combs's 2020 project What You See Ain't Always What You Get, which extended his What You See Is What You Get album to 23 tracks. This January, Morgan Wallen released the 30-track Dangerous: The Double Album, which went on to spend 10 consecutive weeks atop the Billboard 200 chart and become the most popular album for the first half of 2021, according to MRC Data. On April 30, Thomas Rhett released Country Again: Side A, the first part of his extended Country Again project (with Side B to release later this year). That same month, Eric Church began the multi-week rollout for his three-part project Heart & Soul. Kip Moore, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Trisha Yearwood and Randy Travis have also issued deluxe albums this year. Cody Johnson also has the upcoming project, Human: The Double Album, set for Oct. 8.

See the full track list for Aldean's Macon, Georgia album below:

Macon tracklist:

  1. "After You"
  2. "Over You Again"
  3. "That’s What Tequila Does"
  4. "Small Town Small"
  5. "If I Didn’t Love You"
  6. "Story For Another Glass"
  7. "Heaven"
  8. "This Bar Don’t Work Anymore"
  9. "The Sad Songs"
  10. "Watching You Love Me"
  11. "Amarillo Sky" (Live from Nashville, TN)
  12. "Johnny Cash" (Live from Los Angeles, CA)
  13. "She’s Country" (Live from Las Vegas, NV)
  14. "Big Green Tractor" (Live from Dallas, TX)
  15. "My Kinda Party" (Live from St. Louis, MO)

Georgia tracklist:

  1. "Whiskey Me Away"
  2. "Trouble With A Heartbreak"
  3. "The State I’m In"
  4. "Midnight And Missin’ You"
  5. "Ain’t Enough Cowboy"
  6. "God Made Airplanes"
  7. "My Weakness"
  8. "Holy Water"
  9. "Rock And Roll Cowboy"
  10. "Your Mama"
  11. "Take a Little Ride" (Live from Las Vegas, NV)
  12. "Burnin’ It Down" (Live from St. Louis, MO)
  13. "Any Ol’ Barstool" (Live from Knoxville, TN)
  14. "Rearview Town" (Live from St. Louis, MO)
  15. "Blame It On You" (Live from Manchester, TN)