Academy of Country Music Sets New COVID-19 Protocols for ACM Honors & Party for a Cause

keith urban miranda lambert
John Shearer/Getty Images for Academy of Country Music

Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert perform on stage during the 13th Annual ACM Honors at Ryman Auditorium on Aug. 21, 2019 in Nashville, Tenn.

As the Academy of Country Music prepares for next Wednesday's ACM Honors at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium, it announced a change in protocol Thursday (Aug. 19) to better keep attendees safe.

The 14th annual ACM Honors, which recognize ACM Awards winners in non-televised categories, will now require proof of full vaccination (with documentation showing at least two weeks post-second dose) or a negative COVID-19 test within 48 hours of venue entry for all attendees. Additionally, masks will be strongly encouraged, though not required.

The evening prior to the ACM Honors, the academy will host the ACM Party for a Cause at Ascend Amphitheater, marking the event’s first time being hosted in Nashville. The ACM will also require proof of full vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test to gain entry to the outdoor venue. Similarly, masks will be strongly encouraged, though not required.

Carly Pearce is set to host this year’s ACM Honors, which will feature performances from Lauren Alaina, Chris Janson, Jamey Johnson, Ashley McBryde, Pearce herself, Keith Urban, Lee Ann Womack and more.

This year’s Special Awards recipients will include Ken Burns’ Country Music documentary, producer RAC Clark, Luke Combs, Ross Copperman, Dan + Shay, Rascal Flatts, Joe Galante, Toby Keith, Lady A, Loretta Lynn, Gretchen Peters and the late Curly Putman. The ACM Honors ceremony will also celebrate the 55th ACM Awards Industry and Studio Recording Award winners, alongside the newly announced winners of the studio recording awards for the 56th ACM Awards, as well as songwriter of the year winner Hillary Lindsey.

This year’s Party for a Cause performers include Lee Brice, Brett Eldredge, Mickey Guyton, Sam Hunt, Ryan Hurd, Maren Morris and Old Dominion, as well as special guests Tenille Townes, Keith Urban and Trisha Yearwood. The evening raises money for ACM's philanthropic arm, Lifting Lives.

On Thursday, the academy also announced that next year’s 57th Academy of Country Music Awards ceremony will move from CBS to Amazon Prime Video.