Maddie & Tae Announce Sophomore Album: See the Title, Release Date & Track List

Maddie & Tae
Carlos Ruiz

Maddie & Tae

Maddie & Tae will release their anticipated sophomore album The Way It Feels on April 10. The project is produced by Jimmy Robbins and Derek Wells and features songs from the duo’s past two EPs released last year.

“It has been four years since we’ve released an album,” Maddie Marlow says in a statement. “For us, this is a lot more than just an album release. This sophomore album will always be a reminder that no matter the setbacks and struggles, we will come out stronger and better. We are so proud of this 15-song story. We wrote these songs during the most vulnerable times and our hope is that people hear that and connect.”

Adds Taylor Dye, "These songs will always represent something so beautiful and spiritual to us. And hopefully, it will represent something similar to people who listen."

The women penned 14 of the album’s 15 tracks. The project includes previously-released singles “Friends Don’t” and “Die From a Broken Heart” as well as fan favorite "New Dog Old Tricks," penned by Laura Veltz -- who spends her fourth week at No. 1 on Billboard's Country Songwriters chart -- Jesse Frasure and Emily Weisband, and "Lay Here With Me,” a duet with Dierks Bentley.

The project is part of three installments, which Cindy Mabe, president at Universal Music Group, previously explained that the unveiling of music was reached due to the way music fans are discovering and consuming music.

“This album is so strong that I didn’t want to waste one song,” Mabe previously told Billboard. “This is a strategy that made a lot of sense for Maddie & Tae, with all they have going on and a fanbase that is so eager for more. It’s a fun time to be in music, because artists can expose their music to the fans in any way they dream up. There’s more freedom than ever to break the rules.”

The complete track listing for The Way It Feels is below.

1. "Everywhere I'm Goin’” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Josh Thompson, Jimmy Robbins)
2. "Bathroom Floor”  (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Josh Kerr)
3. "My Man” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Dave Barnes, Jordan Reynolds)
4. "Tourist In This Town” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Barry Dean, Jimmy Robbins)
5. "Drunk Or Lonely” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Deric Ruttan, Forrest Whitehead)
6. "One Heart To Another” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Jonathan Singleton, Deric Ruttan)
7. "Trying On Rings” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Laura Veltz, Jimmy Robbins)
8. "Write A Book” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Laura Veltz, Josh Kerr)
9. "Water In His Wine Glass” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Jon Nite)
10. "Ain't There Yet” (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Dave Barnes, Ben West)
11. "Lay Here With Me” (feat. Dierks Bentley) (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Josh Kerr, Dave Barnes)
12. "Friends Don’t" (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Jon Nite, Justin Ebach)
13. "Die From A Broken Heart" (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Jonathan Singleton, Deric Ruttan)     
14. "I Don't Need To Know" (Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Adam Hambrick)
15. "New Dog Old Tricks" (Laura Veltz, Jesse Frasure, Emily Weisband)