CMT to Honor Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert & More at All-Female Artists of the Year Special

Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood
Kevin Mazur/ACMA2017/Getty Images for ACM

Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood attend the 52nd Academy Of Country Music Awards at T-Mobile Arena on April 2, 2017 in Las Vegas.

For the first time since CMT started shining a spotlight on the strongest voices in country with their annual Artists of the Year celebration in 2012, the network has dedicated the night to an all-female roster reflecting "what’s happening right now in culture and in the lives of our fans."

Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Kelsea Ballerini, Maren Morris, Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman of Little Big Town and Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott are the honorees of the 2018 special, which airs Oct. 17 at 8 p.m. E.T./P.T. on CMT.

“In this monumental year for women, dedicating one of the biggest nights in the genre to applaud female country artists not only solidifies our commitment, but we hope will spark a much-needed change in the industry," says Leslie Frame, Senior Vice President of Music & Talent at CMT, of the shift to an all-female Artists of the Year roster. 

CMT will fully turn its focus to supporting the Artists of the Year showcase by dedicating a full day of airtime to a "Woman of Country" takeover across the network's various broadcast and digital platforms.

A slate of artists will join the honorees in Nashville, though the list of performers for the program will be announced at a later date.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.