Lauren Alaina, Midland & Brett Young Win Early ACM Awards in New Artist Categories

All three will perform at the awards show on April 15.

The 2018 new artists for the 53rd Academy of Country Music Awards have officially been announced. Lauren Alaina and Brett Young have been named new female vocalist of the year and new male vocalist of the year, respectively, while Texas-based trio Midland will take home the award for new vocal duo or group.

These awards are the first ACM wins for all three acts. Alaina, Young and Midland are also set to perform at the event on April 15.

The winners received the news via phone calls from this year's host Reba McEntire. ACM shared the artists' candid reactions on Twitter. 

Alaina is also nominated for vocal event of the year for her single "What Ifs" featuring Kane Brown, while Midland is nominated for both vocal group of the year and single record of the year for "Drinkin’ Problem." Last year's winners for the new artist categories were Maren Morris, Jon Pardi and Brothers Osborne.

CBS will broadcast the ACM Awards live on April 15 at 8 p.m. ET. It’s all taking place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.