Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan & More Are 2016 CMT Artists of the Year

Michael Loccisano/Getty Images for Almay
Carrie Underwood attends Almay Fresh-Faced Beauty Day on Oct. 21, 2015 in New York City. 

Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Florida Georgia Line, Luke Bryan and Thomas Rhett will be named this year's CMT artists of the year at the 2016 CMT Artists of the Year special, premiering from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center on Oct. 20 at 9 p.m. ET. 

Chris Stapleton, Eric Church & Maren Morris Lead 50th Annual CMA Awards Nominations

The seventh-annual event will also honor Kelsea Ballerini with its breakout artist of the year award. 

This year marks Stapleton's first artist of the year honor, after receiving the breakout artist nod last year. He joins first time recipient Rhett, along with veterans Underwood (2010, 2012, 2016), Florida Georgia Line (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016) and Bryan, who now ties with Jason Aldean as the artists with most wins with five consecutive years (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016).

CMT Music Awards 2016: Carrie Underwood, Tim McGraw Win Big as Country Veterans Dominate

The honorees were chosen for their dominance over the past year across CMT's platforms, country radio, sales charts and tours. 

The 90 minute special will include performances, as well as emotional moments and comedic antics. Additional awards, performers and special guests will be announced at a later date.