Brad Paisley Dedicates Song To Doctor Infected with Ebola

Brad Paisley, 2014.
Austin Hargrave

 Brad Paisley photographed by Austin Hargrave on May 18th at The MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Brad Paisley was so "moved" by the selfless actions of a doctor infected with the Ebola virus, he's dedicated a song to him.

The country artist has tweeted to his followers to pray for Dr. Kent Brantly, who he described as “one of those brave souls who risks his life to save others.”

Just a minute after his first tweet, Paisley shared a preview of the new song “Me and Jesus” and dedicated it to the medic. "I'm moved by the Christian Dr. Fighting Ebola who gave the serum to his friend. So here's a bonus track. For him," he wrote.

Brantly has been in the news after contracting Ebola in Liberia, where he was working with a charity and helping ill patients. He’s since been taken for treatment in an isolation unit at Emory University Hospital in Atlanta, in doing so becoming the first person with Ebola to enter the U.S. Samaritan's Purse had initially said Brantly had refused an experimental serum, because there was only enough for one person and that Nancy Writebol, another American battling the virus, received it. It's now been reported Brantly did receive a dose and he "seems to be improving," the head of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Sunday, according to USA Today. Writebol is also expected to be treated in the U.S. 

Paisley's 10th studio album “Moonshine In The Trunk” is due Aug. 26 through Arista Nashville. The album, co-produced by Paisley and Luke Wooten, features 14 songs including lead track "River Bank," though “Me and Jesus” doesn't appear on the track list. All told, Paisley has written or co-written 13 songs from the set.

Brad Paisley's New Album Has a Name: 'Moonshine In the Trunk' (Exclusive)

Paisley has been in a mischievous mood over the weekend. He's been the source of various “rogue” tweets and online album teases -- apparently without the OK from his record company. His social networking spree prompted Gary Overton, chairman & CEO of Sony Music Nashville, to remark, “Working with Brad is like riding a roller coaster: you know you’re going to scream, smile and have a wild ride...and it’s generally safe.”

“Moonshine In The Trunk” track list:

1. "Crushin’ It"
2. "River Bank"
3. "Perfect Storm"
4." High Life"
5. "Moonshine in the Trunk"
6. "Shattered Glass"
7. "Limes"
8. "You Shouldn’t Have To"
9. "4WP"
10. "Cover Girl"
11. "Gone Green"
12. "JFK 1962"
13. "American Flag on the Moon"
14. "Country Nation"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.