Exclusive: New Disco Fries EP to Feature 311's Nick Hexum, Raine Maida of Our Lady Peace, Breathe Carolina & Hope Murphy

disco fries live nyc
Charles Roussel

The Disco Fries are taking an alternative route on their next release. Literally.

The New York duo announced their forthcoming Autonomous EP will include alt-rock collaborators 311 frontman Nick Hexum and Our Lady Peace vocalist Raine Maida, as well as Breathe Carolina and Hope Murphy.

15 Female DJs You Need to Know Now

On the release's lead single, "Head in the Clouds," the producers buoy Hexum's upbeat verses and radio-ready chorus with a gentle blend of buoyant chord hits, tight percussion, and subtle vocoder refrains. It's a more unapologetically accessible sound than 311 ever struck, but the Fries succeed in setting Hexum's vocals within the electronic backdrop without it feeling too forced.

Listen to the full premiere of "Head in the Clouds" exclusively on Billboard:

The release announcement follows a 2014 campaign that saw The Disco Fries co-produce Tiësto's gold-certified single "Wasted" and rack up a number of Hype Machine No. 1 releases. They say the EP's title represents the freedom they felt in shaping the project's style.

"In short, we created all of the music purely how we wanted, without 'suit' influence, or even worrying a whole lot about what style the music was," they say.

Exclusive: Hardwell & Tiësto Talk Fame and Friendship

The Disco Fries's Autonomous EP will be available through Liftoff Recordings on April 6. Fans who pre-order the release here will receive "Head in the Clouds" as an immediate download.

Autonomous Tracklist:

1. "A Matter of Time" feat. Raine Maida

2. "All I Wanna" with Breathe Carolina

3. "Head In The Clouds" feat. Nick Hexum

4. "Born Ready" feat. Hope Murphy

5. "Head In The Clouds" feat. Nick Hexum (Acoustic Version) [Album Only]