Richie Hawtin To Release First New Plastikman Album in a Decade


Plastikman will bend minds once again. 

Canadian electronic music master Richie Hawtin will drop a new Plastikman set next week, his first for a decade under his minimal techno alter-ego.

The new album, “EX”, was recorded November 2013 at New York’s Guggenheim at the invitation of Raf Simons, the Belgium fashion designer and Dior artistic director, for the art museum’s annual fundraising program.

Mute and its international partners will release “EX” digitally from June 10. Vinyl, CD and a limited edition SubPac bundle will be available from July 14, and the following day in the U.S. (release dates may be staggered in various territories).

Hawtin commented on the project: “I locked myself away in a series of intense studio sessions and quickly recorded enough new material for the performance and realized I might also have enough for a complete new album,” he says in a statement. “The music came out of me effortlessly as I was very inspired by the opportunity to play in this beautiful architectural space renowned more for art than music.”

A preview for “EX” is up on YouTube.

Hawtin toured Plastikman Live globally in 2011, but will give only one performance under his alias this year, at Barcelona’s Sónar 2014 on June 12. 

Richie Hawtin Talks 2011 Tour, Plastikman Box Set

The Plastikman "Kompilation" set arrived in 2010 and was followed up with 2011’s "Arkives," a 12-disc box that includes all six Plastikman albums from 1993-2010, five CDs of rare and unreleased material. 

As a 20-something producer, Hawtin became a hero of the early '90s underground dance music scene with a succession of brain-twisting Plastikman recordings. The 1994 Plastikman mini-album “Recycled Plastik” featured “Spastik,” a seminal track that can still bring the house down in any techno DJ set. 

Tracklist for “EX”:

1. “Exposed”
2. “Extend”
3. “Expand”
4. “Extrude”
5. “Explore”
6. “Expire”
7. “Exhale”