Skrillex Surprises With 'Recess' Album Release

Jason Nocito

Skrillex now has more in common with Beyoncé than a pile of Grammys. They both like to release surprise albums. Starting on the evening of March 10, the dubstep prince unlocked access to one song after another until all 11 tracks of his forthcoming debut album, “Recess.” had been unleashed unto the world. While “Recess” was first available to fans who had downloaded a mysterious Skrillex smartphone app, clips of the album are now streaming via iTunes before it goes on sale March 18.

“Recess” features guest artists that range from the usual suspects (Diplo, Alvin Risk, Kill The Noise) to the unexpected (Passion Pit’s Michael Angelakos, Niki & The Dove) to the downright surprising (K-Pop stars G-Dragon and CL). Of the album’s 11 tracks, only two - “Doompy Poomp” and “Fuck That” - are without a featured artist.

Skrillex Announces Mothership Tour 2014

While it was widely known that Skrillex had been working in the studio, no details had emerged about any plans for an album until Monday night when the app unlocked the first track, “All Is Fair In Love And Brostep."

Circumventing the traditional album release process has been part of Skrillex’s career ethos since he famously gave away his first EP, “My Name Is Skrillex” via MySpace in 2010. Not that “Recess” will be without a promotional campaign - far from it. Earlier on Monday, Skrillex announced the 20 date Mothership tour starting in May. He will also perform later this month in Austin at SXSW, in Miami at Ultra Music Festival as well as several smaller shows in Miami yet to be announced. 

"Recess" officially drops March 18 through OWSLA/Big Beat/Atlantic. 

Skrillex's "Recess" & 10 Other Unexpected Albums

"Recess" Tracklisting
1. "All Is Fair In Love And Brostep" with Ragga Twins
2. "Recess" with Kill The Noise, Fatman Scoop & Michael Angelakos
3. "Stranger" with KillaGraham from Milo and Otis and Sam Dew
4. "Try It Out (Neon Mix)" with Alvin Risk
5. "Coast Is Clear" with Chance The Rapper & The Social Experiment
6.  "Dirty Vibe" with Diplo, G-Dragon from Big Bang & CL from 2NE1
7.  "Ragga Bomb" with Ragga Twins
8.  "Doompy Poomp"
9.   "Fuck That"
10.  "Ease My Mind" with Niki & The Dove
11.  "Fire Away" with Kid Harpoon