Coldplay's 'Hypnotised' Debuts at No. 1 on Billboard + Twitter Trending 140 Chart

Chiaki Nozu/WireImage
Chris Martin of Coldplay performs at The O2 Arena on Feb. 24, 2016 in London.

The track will appear on the group's five-song EP "Kaleidoscope," due June 2.

Coldplay's latest track "Hypnotised" soared to the top of the Billboard + Twitter Trending 140 chart early Thursday (March 2), the day of its release. The song arrived on the 40th birthday of frontman Chris Martin.

The Billboard + Twitter Trending 140 chart measures the real-time acceleration of conversation around artists and their music on Twitter.

The British alternative rock vets released the song and its lyric video on YouTube around 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET Thursday morning (8 a.m. London time). The lyric video has accumulated more than 500,000 global views on YouTube since its posting.

Also on March 2, Coldplay announced on Twitter that it will release the five-song EP Kaleidoscope June 2, with "Hypnotised" as one of the tracks included.

The new song arrives after Coldplay dropped "Something Just Like This" (Feb. 22), its collaboration with The Chainsmokers. The track, which will appear on The Chainsmokers' April 7 album Memories…Do Not Open, debuted at No. 6 on Hot Dance/Electronic Songs and No. 56 on the Billboard Hot 100 (dated March 11) following a partial week of tracking. It should jump on both lists dated March 18.