Record Labels

Roc Nation Signs Singer-Songwriter Ambré, Releases Her Debut EP 'Pulp'

Alex G. Harper


The New Orleans native wrote two tracks off H.E.R.'s self-titled debut album.

Roc Nation has signed singer-songwriter Ambré, the company announced Friday (Nov. 8). The 23-year-old New Orleans native, who wrote two tracks off H.E.R.’s Grammy-winning self-titled album, also released her debut EP, Pulp, under Roc Nation on Friday.

“I was first introduced to Ambré as a songwriter and was immediately drawn to her melodies, storytelling and overall talent,” said Roc Nation co-president Omar Grant, who signed Ambré with the help of senior vp A&R Dominique Dunn. “She is so aware of who she is as an artist, I feel like she’s the modern-day Tracy Chapman.”

The first single off Pulp, “fubu,” was released in August, with the song’s music video later debuting on BET Jams and BET Soul. It was subsequently announced that Ambré would open for singer-songwriter Lucky Daye on his Painted Tour, which wrapped up at the end of October. Prior to that, she joined Kehlani on her You Should Be Here tour in 2015.

Ambré describes Pulp as a “a psychedelic coming of age story. I want them to go on a journey with me. I hope that my listeners will pay attention to my lyrics and be inspired to change the world.” She signed a deal with Universal Music Publishing Group in March that was secured through her management company Title 9.

Check out the full tracklist for Pulp below and stream the EP here.

Pulp Track List:

1. ENTERLUDE ft. Jean Deaux?
2. free drugs
3. satisfy
4. band practice
5. eternal sunshine ft. G-EazyBJ the Chicago Kid
6. jocin’ (innermission)
7. lost
8. fubu?
9. light signal