Smokey Robinson, Donny Osmond & More to Present at 2020 Radio Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Smokey Robinson and Donnie Simpson
David S. Holloway/Getty Images

Smokey Robinson and Donnie Simpson photographed on Oct. 8, 2004 in Washington, DC.

Elvis Duran, a 2015 inductee into the Radio Hall of Fame, will serve as master of ceremonies.

Motown legend Smokey Robinson, veteran entertainer Donny Osmond and hit-maker Ray J are among the presenters at the 2020 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony, which is set for Oct. 29. Elvis Duran, popular morning show personality heard on Z-100 in New York and nationally syndicated by Premiere Networks, is set to serve as master of ceremonies for the two-hour event. Duran was a 2015 inductee into the Radio Hall of Fame.

Due to COVID-19 health and safety concerns, this year’s ceremony will be live from multiple locations and broadcast on radio stations across the country, streamed via iHeart Radio, and on the SiriusXM Triumph Channel.

Kraig Kitchin, chair of the Radio Hall of Fame, said in a statement, “Elvis Duran is one of the most popular radio hosts in the country, and I’m delighted that he will lead us through an exciting live broadcast.” (In an interview with Billboard, Kitchin was more informal: “He’s just talented as all-get-out.”)

The presenters are chosen by the inductees and are usually people who played a significant role in their careers.

Robinson will present to his long-time friend Donnie Simpson, who hosts The Donnie Simpson Show on WMMJ-FM (Majic 102.3) in Washington, D.C. Simpson previously hosted The Donnie Simpson Morning Show on D.C. station WPGC-FM from 1993 to 2010.

Osmond, who survived teen stardom to have a long entertainment career, will present to Mark Thompson and Brian Phelps. Thompson and Phelps were long-time morning hosts at 95.5 KLOS Los Angeles. At its peak, “The Mark & Brian Show” was syndicated to 21 other markets in the western U.S.

Ray J, who had a No. 3 hit on the Billboard Hot 100 in 2008 with “Sexy Can I,” a collab with Yung Berg, will present to “The Breakfast Club,” a syndicated radio show based in New York City. Two of the three hosts are New York natives --DJ Envy and Angela Yee. The third host is Charlamagne Tha God.

Music producer Salaam Remi, a nine-time Grammy nominee, will present to Angie Martinez, whose afternoon radio show in New York is a huge hit, especially with young listeners. Remi’s Grammy nods include two for album of the year, for his work on Fugees’ The Score and Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black.

DJ, VJ and B-Boy King Tech will present to Sway Calloway, his former co-host of the syndicated The Wake Up Show. Sway currently hosts “Sway in the Morning” on SiriusXM Shade45 as well as the MTV show TRLAM.

Radio programmer Dom Theodore will present to Glenn Beck. Beck, 56, the conservative political commentator, radio host and television producer. Beck hosts the Glenn Beck Radio Program, a talk show syndicated on Premiere Radio Networks.

Rebecca Roberts will accept on behalf of her mother, legendary broadcaster Cokie Roberts, who died in September 2019 at age 75. Cokie Roberts was a political reporter and analyst for National Public Radio and ABC News.

The seven individuals or radio programs being inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame this year brings the total number of inductees to date to 259.

The Radio Hall of Fame is part of the Museum of Broadcast Communications, which is located in Chicago, Ill.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's Class of 2019 | Billboard News